Page Experience - New Google Ranking Factor as of May 2021

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

How the Google ranking is composed and how websites are evaluated is essential for SEO optimization. With the "Page Experience", a new Google ranking factor from May 2021, the next big change is imminent. Under the term "Page Experience", Google summarizes several metrics, which in particular technical structure and the Loading times concern - and are of great importance to you from now on.

 

 

Now with date: Page Experience - new Google ranking factor as of May 2021

Already in the summer of 2020, there was the announcement that the "bundled signal" would soon become a ranking factor and thus decisively Influence on the Google ranking would take. For a long time, it was quiet around the Page Experience. According to statements from Google, this was partly due to the worldwide Corona pandemic, but now the starting signal has been given. In May big changes are coming your way!

This is how the page experience is composed

The new Google ranking signal relies on a combination of a total of seven metrics, three of which are the so-called "Core Web Vitals" represent. The "Core Web Vitals" have been filling the monitors in marketing departments for quite some time, they were first introduced in May 2020. They are structured as follows:

  • Loading Time (Largest Contentful Paint)
  • Interactivity (First Input Delay)
  • Visual stability (Cumulative Layout Shift)

All of them are represented by the Core Web Vitals and are intended to evaluate technical usability of a website. They see themselves as a blueprint for what Google rates as "best practices."

The Page Experience, a new Google ranking factor, combines the three metrics mentioned above with four additional evaluation criteria. These are:

  • Compatibility towards tablets and smartphones (Mobile Friendly)
  • Quality of the code, especially with regard to efficiency and security (safe browsing)
  • Use of HTTPS encryption, as should already be the standard today
  • No interstitial usage
Ab Mai 2021 fließen diese sieben Metriken in die Google Bewertung für Benutzerfreundlichkeit ein.
Starting in May 2021, these seven metrics will factor into Google's user experience score (image: click.news)

Based on the now total of seven metrics, it becomes clear that, strictly speaking, Page Experience is not a completely new ranking factor. Instead, the page experience represents seven metrics, which are already actively incorporated into the Google ranking of your projects. Due to the bundling and announcement, one may speculate that all seven metrics will henceforth play a greater role in the evaluation than before.

We remember: The "mobile friendliness" of a website was already taken into account as "Mobilegeddon", which was announced effectively in the media at the time as a ranking factor with the pithy name. The same applied to HTTPS, which led to a general rethinking on the Internet: Google's algorithm adjustments of yesterday, shaped the future of tomorrow. Meanwhile, the loading times were reweighted with the "Mobile Speed Update", among other things.

What do the individual metrics of the Core Web Vitals in Page Experience tell you?

With many of the terms used by Google, it can be quickly concluded which evaluation criteria they ultimately represent. Nevertheless, terms like "Cumulative Layout Shift" are not necessarily familiar to many marketers and webmasters for completely understandable reasons. We would like to explain what is behind the new Google ranking metrics - and how they can help to align your projects for the future.

Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) - loading time

The time that elapses from calling up the page until the primary content is fully loaded is measured. Google considers values below 2.5 seconds as good, with load times between 2.5 and 4 seconds there is room for improvement. Potential downgrades in Google rankings threaten websites that load their primary content for longer than 4 seconds.

Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS) - visual stability

Web pages load, even if the user does not notice it, "step by step". In the worst case, this can lead to the user wanting to click on an element, but the page is still loading and then the entire layout shifts - then the click may end up on an advertising banner or in nirvana instead. On the positive side, if the layout shifts little or not at all during the loading time. Google rates CLS values up to 0.1 as positive, above 0.25 as poor.

First Input Delay (FID) - Interactivity

FID indicates how much time elapses between the first reaction of the user and the Browser response and the web page loaded in it. Positive loading times include periods of Less than 100 milliseconds, anything above 300 milliseconds gives valid reason for improvement.

Achten Sie auf die Google Ranking-Metriken und optimieren Sie diese gegebenenfalls.
Pay attention to Google ranking metrics and optimize them if necessary (Image: business.trustedshops.com)

The other four metrics: The old familiar taking on new meaning!

The Page Experience as a new Google ranking factor from May 2021 also takes up four well-known metrics. We take a closer look, because best practice solutions are still a goal today, but tomorrow they may already be standard.

Mobile Friendly

This criterion represents, how well a website works on mobile devices as tablets or smartphones is displayed - both in terms of loading times and the arrangement of design elements.

Safe Browsing

Google assumes for positively rated websites that they have a slim, efficient and clean code code. Even if the user does not come into direct contact with it or does not see it, the code is representative of the quality of the website and its backend.

HTTPS encryption

The little lock in the browser's address bar is now even familiar to less technically savvy users. HTTPS enables a lossless, secure transmission between user and website and has long been considered an indispensable standard.

No Intrusive Interstitials - no interstitial usage

The term "interstitials" is not new, but it's not widely used either. This metric becomes more understandable if you replace interstitials with "pop-ups" - which is exactly what it means. Annoying pop-upsthat block the view of the actual content are evaluated negatively by Google. Sometimes they cannot be prevented, for example with regard to the GDPR and associated cookie queries. However, advertisements and co. could lead to a worse rating.

 

 

Conclusion: Google's new metrics are not an obstacle - they are an opportunity for good, technically flawless projects!

The Page Experience is coming - and may not fundamentally turn Google rankings upside down, but it will definitely have an influence on them. Many of the metrics it contains are already taken into account anyway, but from now on sometimes with a higher weighting. In any case, they all reflect what is important beyond the search engine rankings: the foundation stone for a positive User Experience to keep your visitors coming back again and again.

Tags: 

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

preloader
Scroll to top
Thorit GmbH
Binsenstraße 13
91088 Bubenreuth
Anfragen
P: + (49) 09131 9279 515
M: sales@thorit.de

Page Experience – Neuer Google Ranking-Faktor ab Mai 2021

Wie sich das Google Ranking zusammensetzt und wie Webseiten bewertet werden, ist für die SEO-Optimierung essentiell. Mit der „Page Experience“, einem neuen Google Ranking-Faktor ab Mai 2021, steht die nächste große Veränderung ins Haus. Unter dem Begriff „Page Experience“ fasst Google mehrere Metriken zusammen, die insbesondere den technischen Aufbau und die Ladezeiten betreffen – und für Sie fortan von großer Bedeutung sind.

 

 

Nun mit Datum: Page Experience – neuer Google Ranking-Faktor ab Mai 2021

Schon im Sommer 2020 gab es die Ankündigung, dass das „gebündelte Signal“ bald zum Ranking-Faktor werde und damit maßgeblich Einfluss auf das Google Ranking nehmen würde. Für lange Zeit war es dann einigermaßen still um die Page Experience. Laut Aussagen von Google unter anderem bedingt durch die weltweite Corona-Pandemie, nun steht der Startschuss aber fest. Im Mai kommen große Veränderungen auf Sie zu!

So setzt sich die Page Experience zusammen

Das neue Google Ranking-Signal stützt sich auf eine Kombination aus insgesamt sieben Metriken, wobei drei davon die sogenannten „Core Web Vitals“ repräsentieren. Die „Core Web Vitals“ füllen schon seit längerer Zeit die Monitore in Marketingabteilungen, vorgestellt wurden sie erstmals im Mai 2020. Sie bauen sich wie folgt auf:

  • Ladezeit (Largest Contentful Paint)
  • Interaktivität (First Input Delay)
  • Visuelle Stabilität (Cumulative Layout Shift)

Sie allesamt werden durch die Core Web Vitals dargestellt und sollen die technische Nutzerfreundlichkeit einer Webseite bewerten. Sie verstehen sich wie eine Blaupause für das, was Google als „Best Practices“ bewertet.

Die Page Experience, ein neuer Google Ranking-Faktor, kombiniert die drei genannten Metriken mit vier weiteren Bewertungskriterien. Diese lauten:

  • Kompatibilität gegenüber Tablets und Smartphones (Mobile Friendly)
  • Qualität des Codes, insbesondere mit Hinblick auf Effizienz und Sicherheit (Safe Browsing)
  • Nutzung einer HTTPS-Verschlüsselung, wie sie bereits heute der Standard sein sollte
  • Keine Interstitial-Nutzung
Ab Mai 2021 fließen diese sieben Metriken in die Google Bewertung für Benutzerfreundlichkeit ein.
Ab Mai 2021 fließen diese sieben Metriken in die Google Bewertung für Benutzerfreundlichkeit ein (Bild: klick.news)

Anhand der nun insgesamt sieben Metriken wird deutlich, dass es sich bei der Page Experience genau genommen gar nicht um einen völlig neuen Rankingfaktor handelt. Stattdessen repräsentiert die Page Experience sieben Metriken, die schon jetzt aktiv in das Google Ranking Ihrer Projekte einfließen. Aufgrund der Bündelung und Ankündigung darf man mutmaßen, dass allen sieben Metriken fortan eine größere Rolle bei der Bewertung als bisher einnehmen.

Wir erinnern uns: Die „Mobile Friendliness“ einer Webseite wurde bereits als „Mobilegeddon“ berücksichtigt, der als Ranking-Faktor mit dem prägnanten Namen damals medial wirksam angekündigt. Selbiges galt für HTTPS, was zu einem generellen Umdenken im Internet führte: Googles Algorithmus-Anpassungen von gestern, prägten die Zukunft von morgen. Die Ladezeiten wurden indes unter anderem mit dem „Mobile Speed Update“ neu gewichtet.

Was sagen die einzelnen Metriken der Core Web Vitals in der Page Experience aus?

Bei vielen der von Google benutzten Begrifflichkeiten lässt sich schnell schlussfolgern, welche Bewertungskriterien diese letztlich repräsentieren. Trotzdem sind Begriffe wie „Cumulative Layout Shift“ vielen Marketern und Webmastern aus völlig verständlichem Grund nicht unbedingt geläufig. Wir möchten erklären, was sich hinter den neuen Google Ranking-Metriken verbirgt – und wie Sie helfen, Ihre Projekte auf die Zukunft auszurichten.

Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) – Ladezeit

Gemessen wird die Zeit, die vom Aufrufen der Seite bis zum vollständigen Laden des Primär-Contents vergeht. Google erachtet Werte unterhalb von 2,5 Sekunden als gut, bei Ladezeiten zwischen 2,5 und 4 Sekunden gibt es Verbesserungsbedarf. Potentielle Abstufungen im Google Ranking drohen Webseiten, die ihren Primär-Content länger als 4 Sekunden laden.

Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS) – visuelle Stabilität

Webseiten laden, auch wenn der Nutzer es nicht bemerkt, „Schritt für Schritt“. Im schlimmsten Fall kann das dazu führen, dass der Nutzer auf ein Element klicken möchte, die Seite aber noch lädt und sich anschließend das komplette Layout verschiebt – dann landet der Klick vielleicht stattdessen auf einem Werbebanner oder im Nirwana. Positiv ist, wenn sich das Layout während der Ladezeit wenig bis gar nicht verschiebt. Google bewertet CLS-Werte bis 0,1 als positiv, oberhalb von 0,25 als schlecht.

First Input Delay (FID) – Interaktivität

FID gibt an, wie viel Zeit zwischen der ersten Reaktion des Nutzers und der Reaktion des Browsers sowie der darin geladenen Webseite vergeht. Positive Ladezeiten umfassen Zeitspannen von weniger als 100 Millisekunden, alles oberhalb der 300 Millisekunden gibt triftigen Grund für Verbesserungen.

Achten Sie auf die Google Ranking-Metriken und optimieren Sie diese gegebenenfalls.
Achten Sie auf die Google Ranking-Metriken und optimieren Sie diese gegebenenfalls (Bild: business.trustedshops.de)

Die weiteren vier Metriken: Altbekanntes, das neue Bedeutung erlangt!

Die Page Experience als neuer Google Ranking-Faktor ab Mai 2021 greift des Weiteren vier altbekannte Metriken auf. Wir schauen genauer hin, denn Best-Practice-Lösungen sind heute noch Ziel, morgen mitunter schon Standard.

Mobile Friendly

Dieses Kriterium repräsentiert, wie gut eine Webseite auf mobilen Endgeräten wie Tablets oder Smartphones dargestellt wird – sowohl was Ladezeiten betrifft als auch die Anordnung von Gestaltungselementen.

Safe Browsing

Google setzt bei positiv bewerteten Webseiten voraus, dass diese einen schlanken, effizienten und sauberen Code verwenden. Selbst wenn der Nutzer mit diesem nicht direkt in Kontakt kommt beziehungsweise ihn nicht einsieht, steht der Code stellvertretend für die Qualität der Webseite und ihres Backends.

HTTPS-Verschlüsselung

Das kleine Schloss in der Adresszeile des Browsers ist mittlerweile sogar technisch weniger versierten Nutzern ein Begriff. HTTPS ermöglicht eine verlustfreie, sichere Übertragung zwischen Nutzer und Webseite und gilt längst als unverzichtbarer Standard.

No Intrusive Interstitials – keine Interstitial-Nutzung

Der Begriff „Interstitials“ ist nicht neu, aber auch nicht weitläufig verbreitet. Verständlicher wird diese Metrik, wenn man Interstitials durch „Pop-Ups“ ersetzt – genau das ist damit nämlich gemeint. Störende Pop-Ups, die den Blick auf den eigentlichen Content versperren, werden von Google negativ bewertet. Manchmal lassen sie sich nicht verhindern, beispielsweise mit Hinblick auf die DSGVO und damit verbundene Cookie-Abfragen. Werbeanzeigen und Co. könnten aber zu einer schlechteren Bewertung führen.

 

 

Fazit: Googles neue Metriken sind kein Hindernis – sie sind eine Chance für gute, technisch einwandfrei aufgestellte Projekte!

Die Page Experience wird kommen – und die Google Rankings vielleicht nicht grundlegend auf den Kopf stellen, aber definitiv Einfluss darauf nehmen. Viele der darin enthaltenen Metriken werden sowieso schon berücksichtigt, fortan aber mitunter mit einer höheren Gewichtung. In jedem Fall spiegeln sie allesamt das wider, was auch abseits der Rankings in Suchmaschinen wichtig ist: den Grundstein für eine positive User Experience zu legen, damit Ihre Besucher immer und immer wieder kommen.

Thorit GmbH Online Marketing, SEO, SEA, Webdesign, Conversion Rate Optimierung, eCommerce hat 4,10 von 5 Sternen 13 Bewertungen auf ProvenExpert.com