Outbound marketing, which forms are still worthwhile?

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Outbound marketing is regarded by the advertising scene as an outdated and currently no longer effective form of marketing. However, the advertising and marketing measures directed by the company to the customer are still very effective despite the increasing relevance of SEO and social media.

If you need tips for your promotional activities, you can always contact a Social media agency or a SEO Agency turn. 

The enormous reach that can be achieved with outbound marketing is almost impossible to achieve with inbound measures. Although this often involves a lot of unintentional scattering of the sometimes cost-intensive methods, marketers develop advertising strategies that use both outbound and inbound measures.

 

So, it's best to use an advertising strategy that takes into account the Advantages of both methods combines. Huge reach of TV commercials, ads in high-circulation print products such as magazines and newspapers can be used for the first contact with potential customers. For the final conversion, lead generation or the conclusion of the purchase, the detailed information of the inbound measures such as newsletters, social media, e-books, online tutorials or similar provide.

In this article, we'll show you what else you should know about outbound marketing and why it's worth including some of the measures in your marketing strategy.

What is Outbound Marketing?

Outbound marketing is generally considered to be the classical marketing which, with its advertising measures and promotions, has actively acquire customers would like.

Typical outbound measures include TV commercials, mass e-mails, flyer advertising, or cold calling over the phone.

What is meant by outbound?

Outbound is used to describe the direction of the advertising messages. Whereas with Inbound Marketing waiting for the Target group and customers become aware of the company and its products by themselves, this is the case with the Outbound marketing the other way around. The first contact is made by the advertising company. However, some methods are now considered somewhat outdated. Especially when it comes to telephone calls, many customers become skeptical and tend to hang up.

What is Inbound Marketing?

Compared to outbound marketing, the Inbound marketing new leads and customers via content marketing and a lot of work in the field of Social media. Websites are optimized for search engines with SEO. Advertising banners are displayed online targeted only for potential customers.

Very popular and promising measures of the inbound method are, for example, blogging, free guides, e-books or even explainer videos, podcasts and social media marketing.

What are the differences between inbound and outbound marketing?

Inbound marketing is a modern strategy that has become popular with the rapid advance of digitalization. Many customers nowadays romp around on one of the social media platforms and generally prefer to find out about new products themselves first. This is exactly where the marketing strategies of inbound marketing come in, because they primarily use online resources.

Outbound marketing follows a completely different principle. As the name suggests, the advertising measures are directed outward. The company is looking for new customers.

Outbound Marketing
The differences between inbound and outbound marketing are often not immediately apparent at the outset (source: saxoprint.com)

Direction of the advertising message

  • Outbound: Company makes contact with the customer
  • Inbound: Customers contact the company

Typical form of promotions

  • Outbound: traditional forms of marketing such as advertising on TV, print, e-mail advertising, telephone acquisition
  • Inbound: modern forms of marketing such as SEO, e-books, blogging, landing pages, tutorial, podcasts

Advantages of Outbound Marketing:

  • Long range
  • Increase brand awareness
  • Clear advertising intention recognizable

Advantages of Inbound Marketing:

  • low cost
  • Target groups can be better defined and addressed
  • SEO and content marketing generates permanently good positions on the search engine results pages

Disadvantages of Outbound Marketing:

  • high scattering loss
  • costly forms of advertising
  • Measurement of success difficult

Disadvantages of Inbound Marketing:

  • Good content takes time
  • Manpower necessary
  • Success is not immediately visible
  • Good strategy necessary

How useful are marketing measures in outbound marketing still?

Many advertisers and companies consider outbound measures to be outdated and see them in connection with high marketing budgets. Here it is necessary to probe and find the right strategy for the respective company.

Although the Outbound marketing is inferior to inbound marketing in terms of costs, it can be enormous range score points. Think TV commercials, radio or flyer advertising. These outbound methods reach a very wide audience. With However, high scattering losses are to be expected here, since, for example, TV commercials for women or children are also seen by men who are less interested in the product in question.

But especially for small and medium-sized enterprises, which operate on a local basis, some of the outbound measures are worthwhile quite. The local electrician can advertise on the local radio station, sponsor the local soccer club or distribute flyers in his catchment area. Contact is direct and interested parties get the information delivered straight to their homes.

Large companies use selected outbound marketing campaigns to draw potential customers' attention to their own company. This can be seen as an entry point for inbound marketing. Advertisements or articles in the newspaper can arouse interest and lead to the target group later looking for more information on the company's website and new customers subscribing to newsletters and blogs.

What is an outbound manager?

The tasks of an outbound manager lie in the organization and dissemination of the respective outbound marketing measures. Outbound managers create meaningful strategies according to the company's requirements. Analyze the customer group, create buyer personas and choose the best marketing measures to reach as many prospects as possible.

What is Outbound B2B?

Outbound marketing is currently particularly effective in the B2B sector. This is because quite a lot of information can be gathered about potential companies that might be interested in the products before a cold call is made. With extensive research, potential customers can be circled and the risk of rejection minimized.

If a company responds to your outbound marketing efforts, then the inbound marketing can start. With e-books, whitepapers, newsletters or other relevant forms of content marketing, the deal can be closed.

Guest commentary by sortlist

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

preloader
Scroll to top
Thorit GmbH
Binsenstraße 13
91088 Bubenreuth
Anfragen
P: + (49) 09131 9279 515
M: sales@thorit.de

Outbound Marketing, welche Formen lohnen sich noch?

Outbound Marketing wird von der werbetreibenden Szene als eine veraltete und aktuell nicht mehr wirksame Form des Marketings angesehen. Die Werbe- und Marketingmaßnahmen, die vom Unternehmen an den Kunden gerichtet werden, sind jedoch trotz steigender Relevanz von SEO und Social Media immer noch sehr wirksam.

Wenn Sie Tipps für Ihre Werbemaßnahmen benötigen, können Sie sich jederzeit an eine Social Media Agentur oder eine SEO Agentur wenden. 

Die enorme Reichweite, die mit Outbound Marketing erreicht werden kann, ist mit Inbound Maßnahmen kaum zu bewerkstelligen. Obwohl dabei oft viel ungewollte Streuung der mitunter kostenintensiven Methoden einhergeht, entwickeln Marketer Werbestrategien, die sowohl Outbound- und Inbound-Maßnahmen nutzen.

 

Nutzen Sie also am besten eine Werbestrategie, welche die Vorteile beider Methoden verbindet. Riesige Reichweite von TV-Spots, Anzeigen in auflagestarken Print-Produkten wie Magazinen und Zeitungen können für den ersten Kontakt mit potentiellen Kunden genutzt werden. Für die finale Conversion, Lead-Erzeugung oder dem Kaufabschluss sorgen die detaillierten Informationen der Inbound-Maßnahmen wie Newsletter, Social Media, E-Books, Online Tutorials oder Ähnliches.

Was Sie sonst noch über Outbound Marketing wissen sollten und warum es sich lohnt, einige der Maßnahmen in die Marketing Strategie aufzunehmen, zeigen wir Ihnen in diesem Artikel.

Was ist Outbound Marketing?

Outbound Marketing wird allgemein hin als das klassische Marketing betrachtet, das mit seinen Werbemaßnahmen und Aktionen aktiv Kunden akquirieren möchte.

Typische Outbound-Maßnahmen sind TV-Spots, Massen-E-Mails, Flyer-Werbung oder auch Kaltakquise über das Telefon.

Was versteht man unter Outbound?

Mit Outbound wird die Richtung der Werbebotschaften beschrieben. Während beim Inbound-Marketing darauf gewartet wird, dass die Zielgruppe und Kunden von selbst auf das Unternehmen und dessen Produkte aufmerksam werden, ist das beim Outbound Marketing genau andersherum. Der erste Kontakt wird vom werbetreibenden Unternehmen hergestellt. Einige Methoden werden dabei mittlerweile jedoch als etwas veraltet angesehen. Gerade wenn es um Telefonanrufe geht, werden viele Kunden skeptisch und legen eher auf.

Was ist Inbound Marketing?

Im Vergleich zum Outbound Marketing generiert das Inbound Marketing neue Leads und Kunden über Content Marketing und viel Arbeit im Bereich von Social Media. Webseiten werden mit SEO für Suchmaschinen optimiert. Werbebanner werden online ganz gezielt nur für potenzielle Kunden angezeigt.

Sehr beliebte und erfolgversprechende Maßnahmen der Inbound-Methode sind zum Beispiel Blogging, kostenlose Ratgeber, E-Books oder auch Erklärvideos, Podcasts und Social-Media-Marketing.

Wo liegen die Unterschiede zwischen Inbound und Outbound Marketing?

Inbound Marketing ist eine moderne Strategie, die mit der schnell fortschreitenden Digitalisierung beliebt geworden ist. Viele Kunden tummeln sich heutzutage in einer der Social-Media-Plattformen und informieren sich generell lieber erst einmal selbst über neue Produkte. Genau hier setzen die Marketingstrategien des Inbound Marketings an, denn sie nutzen vornehmlich online Ressourcen.

Outbound Marketing verfolgt einen ganz anderen Grundsatz. Wie der Name schon erahnen lässt, sind die Werbemaßnahmen nach außen gerichtet. Das Unternehmen sucht nach neuen Kunden.

Outbound Marketing
Die Unterschiede zwischen Inbound- und Outbound-Marketing sind zu Beginn oftmals nicht direkt ersichtlich (Quelle: saxoprint.de)

Richtung der Werbebotschaft

  • Outbound: Unternehmen nimmt Kontakt zum Kunden auf
  • Inbound: Kunden nehmen Kontakt zum Unternehmen auf

Typische Form der Werbeaktionen

  • Outbound: traditionelle Marketing Formen wie Werbung im TV, Print, E-Mail-Werbung, Telefon-Akquise
  • Inbound: moderne Marketing Formen wie SEO, E-Books, Blogging, Landingpages, Tutorial, Podcasts

Vorteile von Outbound Marketing:

  • große Reichweite
  • Steigerung der Brand Awareness
  • Klare Werbeabsicht erkennbar

Vorteile von Inbound Marketing:

  • geringe Kosten
  • Zielgruppen können besser definiert und angesprochen werden
  • SEO und Content Marketing erzeugt dauerhaft gute Positionen auf den Ergebnisseiten der Suchmaschinen

Nachteile von Outbound Marketing:

  • hohe Streuverluste
  • kostenintensive Werbeformen
  • Erfolgsmessung schwer möglich

Nachteile von Inbound Marketing:

  • Guter Content erfordert Zeit
  • Manpower notwendig
  • Erfolg ist nicht sofort sichtbar
  • Gute Strategie notwendig

Wie sinnvoll sind Marketing-Maßnahmen im Outbound Marketing noch?

Viele Werbetreibenden und Unternehmen halten die Outbound Maßnahmen für veraltet und sehen diese in Verbindung mit hohen Marketingbudgets. Hier gilt es zu sondieren und die passende Strategie für das jeweilige Unternehmen zu finden.

Obwohl das Outbound Marketing in Sachen Kosten dem Inbound Marketing unterlegen ist, kann es mit einer enormen Reichweite punkten. Denken Sie an TV-Spots, Radio oder Flyer-Werbung. Diese Outbound Methoden erreichen ein sehr breites Publikum. Mit hohen Streuverlusten ist hier jedoch zu rechnen, da zum Beispiel TV-Werbung für Frauen oder Kinder auch Männer sehen, die am jeweiligen Produkt weniger interessiert sind.

Doch gerade für kleine und mittelständige Unternehmen, die lokal begrenzt agieren, lohnen sich einige der Outbound Maßnahmen durchaus. Der örtliche Elektriker kann Werbung beim lokalen Radiosender schalten, den heimischen Fußballclub sponsern oder Flyer in seinem Einzugsgebiet verteilen. Die Kontaktaufnahme ist direkt und Interessenten bekommen die Information direkt nach Hause geliefert.

Große Firmen nutzen ausgewählte Aktionen des Outbound Marketings, um damit potenzielle Kunden auf das eigene Unternehmen aufmerksam zu machen. Dies kann als Einstiegspunkt für das Inbound Marketing gesehen werden. Werbeanzeigen oder Artikel in der Zeitung können Interesse wecken und dazu führen, dass sich die Zielgruppe später auf der Website des Unternehmens mehr Informationen sucht und neue Kunden Newsletter und Blogs abonnieren.

Was ist ein Outbound Manager?

Die Aufgaben eines Outbound Managers liegen in der Organisation und Verbreitung der jeweiligen Outbound Marketing Maßnahmen. Outbound Manager erstellen sinnvolle Strategien entsprechend den Anforderungen des Unternehmens. Analysieren die Kundengruppe, erstellen Buyers Personas und wählen die besten Marketing Maßnahmen, um so viele Interessenten wie möglich zu erreichen.

Was ist Outbound B2B?

Outbound Marketing ist aktuell besonders wirksam im B2B Bereich. Denn hier kann vor einer Kaltakquise recht viel Information über potentielle Unternehmen gesammelt werden, die an den Produkten interessiert sein könnten. Mit einer umfangreichen Recherche können potentielle Kunden eingekreist und das Risiko einer Absage minimiert werden.

Antwortet eine Firma auf die Maßnahmen Ihres Outbound Marketings, dann kann das Inbound Marketing starten. Mit E-Books, Whitepaper, Newsletter oder anderen relevanten Content Marketing Formen kann der Vertragsabschluss geschafft werden.

Gastbeitrag von sortlist

Thorit GmbH Online Marketing, SEO, SEA, Webdesign, Conversion Rate Optimierung, eCommerce hat 4,10 von 5 Sternen 13 Bewertungen auf ProvenExpert.com