Customer interviews - how to better understand the customer journey

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

The difference between a well-thought-out and an excellently structured and customer-centered Customer Journey are often caused by small details. However, discovering and fixing them requires a structured approach.
And while you can count on the depth of data available to you in many areas, it is often personalconversationsthat will help you.
Well conducted customer interviews give you a detailed insight into the minds of your customers - how you can use this as a lever for a better understanding of the customer journey, we reveal to you in this overview.

 

Capture customer satisfaction


A Customer Journey Map helps you put your customers' journey into a clear shape and understand it. However, marketing departments in particular are often too close to the sales funnel and too involved in the design to make independent decisions. Together with IT, the sales team, and the UI designers, this creates a wide variety of viewpoints on the customer journey, but all of them can only assume what actually moves customers.

Understanding customers on a personal, emotional and intellectual level requires a personal approach and classic customer interviews are far from being obsolete here. The only difference is that today you have access to technical tools that enable you to conduct interviews at scale and simplify data evaluation.

Online Customer Journey Map
A customer journey map gives you a good overview. Customer interviews can give you more in-depth information. (Image: venngage.com)

But to really go in depth, you need to really work in depth. Surveys and A-B tests can quickly resolve superficial design issues, focus group testing is a good tool in many scenarios, but a personal interview with as well personally answered questions, creates quite new insights into unforeseen fields.
Conducting good customer interviews is an art in itself. We'll tell you the basics in our step-by-step guide.

The best tips for customer interviews


Clear questions instead of platitudes

An interview is two-way communication. Not only do you ask for information, but your questions also provide valuable information to the interviewees.

How much and what information you share can significantly affect the outcome of the customer interview.

Example: Your company sells sneakers made from recycled marine plastic. If you ask your customers if they would like to buy shoes made from recycled material, most of them will probably answer "yes. Recycling plastic, however, is a more expensive process than producing new plastic, so correctly you would have to ask if customers would be willing to buy shoes made from recycled plastic if they cost more.

So questions in a customer interview should include benefits and costs in order to honest and appropriate feedback to be obtained.

Ask pull questions instead of push questions

Inadmissible in court, but common practice in many interviews: Questions in which you imply an answer.
Example: "Wouldn't you like to be able to conveniently send an email to our customer service?" This question sends customers clear signals about what answer you want and leaves alternatives out of the equation.

Instead, ask what communications customers want, and you'll get a broader range of answers.

Mit Pull-Fragen können Sie Antwortmöglichkeiten bereits in die Frage einbauen.
Pull questions allow you to include answer choices already in the question.

Inferring the future from the past

People are creatures of habit. Asked what they would do or could imagine doing in the future, answers can often be very confused.
But - and you should know this from data-based analyses know

A look at past behavior provides a preview of future behavior.

So feel free to ask your customers if they have done an action before. This is often more meaningful than speculation.
Example: "Have you ever used one of the following payment providers?" instead of "Can you imagine using one of the following payment providers?". Many users can imagine using an alternative to credit card or PayPal. But if they have always been satisfied with a service in the past, they will probably continue to use it.

Focus on the key points

Respect your time, but also that of the interviewee. Therefore, in an interview, work primarily with the essentials of your customer journey. For example, work out the Customer Personasthen demographic data is just as important to you. Define your Touchpoints and leverage your sales funnel.

Data-based work gives you precise information about the strengths and weaknesses of your customer journey. In a customer interview, you learn the details from the customer's point of view and can eliminate weak points.

The law of large numbers

Customer interviews are also data, even if the personal responses are soft data sets. This also means that you need better Collect resultsif you are working with larger data sets.

Even with open questions, you will quickly recognize patterns this way.

From the interview to the improved Customer Journey Map

But how do you translate customer interviews into a better and more clearly defined customer journey for you?

First, you can use interviews and data to segment your customers more and show their perspective on your company, brand, and Wish Fulfillment. Critical moments and touchpoints you should note clearly and you should now have a better understanding for whether - from the customer's point of view - you can actually deliver on your brand promise.

A customer journey map does not have to be visually spectacular, but it should clearly communicate what the customer journey looks like in practice.
You can immediately incorporate insights into your marketing and, for example, emphasize those points that were particularly close to the respondents' hearts or strengthen your investment in those channels that proved to be particularly productive.

 

The personal view of the customer journey

Customer interviews help your company at every stage of the customer journey, from the Lead generation through conversion to the transformation of customers into brand ambassadors.
From the first touchpoint to the unboxing experience to contacting customer support, it's your customers' valuable experiences that they can only share in a detailed conversation.

Would you like to learn more about the customer journey, mapping and customer behavior analysis? We would also be happy to advise you personally.

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

preloader
Scroll to top
Thorit GmbH
Binsenstraße 13
91088 Bubenreuth
Anfragen
P: + (49) 09131 9279 515
M: sales@thorit.de

Kundeninterviews – so verstehen Sie die Customer Journey besser

Den Unterschied zwischen einer wohl durchdachten und einer exzellent strukturierten und kundenzentrierten Customer Journey machen oft Kleinigkeiten aus. Diese allerdings zu entdecken und zu beheben setzt eine strukturierte Herangehensweise voraus.
Und auch wenn Sie in vielen Bereichen auf die Tiefe der Ihnen zur Verfügung stehenden Daten zählen können, sind es oftmals persönlichenGespräche, die Ihnen weiterhelfen.
Gut geführte Kundeninterviews geben Ihnen einen detaillierten Einblick in die Köpfe Ihrer Kunden – wie Sie dies als Hebel für ein besseres Verständnis der Customer Journey nutzen können, verraten wir Ihnen in diesem Überblick.

 

Erfassen Sie die Kundenzufriedenheit


Eine Customer Journey Map hilft Ihnen dabei, den Weg Ihrer Kunden in eine klare Form zu bringen und zu verstehen. Gerade Marketingabteilungen stehen aber oft zu dicht am Sales Funnel und sind in das Design zu sehr involviert, als dass sie noch unabhängige Entscheidungen treffen könnten. Zusammen mit der IT, dem Sales Team und den UI-Designern entstehen so die verschiedensten Blickpunkte auf die Customer Journey, die aber alle nur annehmen können, was Kunden tatsächlich bewegt.

Kunden auf persönlicher, emotionaler und intellektueller Ebene zu verstehen, erfordert eine persönliche Herangehensweise und klassische Kundeninterviews haben hier noch lange nicht ausgedient. Nur dass Sie heute auf technische Hilfsmittel zurückgreifen können, die Ihnen Interviews at scale ermöglichen und die Datenauswertung vereinfachen.

Eine Customer Journey Map gibt Ihnen einen guten Überblick. Mit Kundeninterviews können Sie tiefgründigere Informationen erhalten.
Eine Customer Journey Map gibt Ihnen einen guten Überblick. Mit Kundeninterviews können Sie tiefgründigere Informationen erhalten. (Bild: venngage.com)

Aber um wirklich in die Tiefe zu gehen, müssen Sie auch wirklich in die Tiefe arbeiten. Umfragen und A-B-Tests können oberflächliche Probleme im Design schnell lösen, Fokusgruppentests sind in vielen Szenarios ein gutes Behilfsmittel, aber ein persönliches Interview mit ebenso persönlich beantworteten Fragen, schafft ganz neue Einblicke in unvorhergesehene Felder.
Gute Kundeninterviews durchzuführen, ist eine Kunst für sich. Die Basics verraten wir Ihnen in unserem Schritt-für-Schritt-Guide.

Die besten Tipps für Kundeninterviews


Klare Fragen statt Gemeinplätze

Ein Interview ist Kommunikation in zwei Richtungen. Sie erfragen nicht nur Informationen, sondern auch Ihre Fragen liefern den Befragten wertvolle Informationen.

Wie viele und welche Informationen Sie teilen, kann das Ergebnis des Kundeninterviews maßgeblich beeinflussen.

Beispiel: Ihr Unternehmen verkauft Sneaker aus recyceltem Meeresplastik. Fragen Sie Ihre Kunden nun, ob diese gerne Schuhe aus recyceltem Material kaufen würden, werden vermutlich die meisten mit „Ja“ antworten. Das Recycling von Plastik allerdings ist ein teurerer Prozess als die Herstellung neuen Plastiks, korrekt müssten Sie also fragen, ob Kunden bereit sind, Schuhe aus Recyclingplastik zu kaufen, wenn diese mehr kosten.

Fragen in einem Kundeninterview sollten also Nutzen und Kosten beinhalten, um ehrliches und sachgerechtes Feedback zu erhalten.

Stellen Sie Pull- statt Push-Fragen

Vor Gericht unzulässig, in vielen Interviews aber gang und gäbe: Fragen, in denen Sie eine Antwort implizieren.
Beispiel: „Sie möchten doch auch, dass Sie unserem Kundenservice ganz bequem eine Email schicken können?“ Diese Frage sendet Kunden klar Signale, welche Antwort Sie sich wünschen und lässt Alternativen außen vor.

Fragen Sie stattdessen, welche Kommunikationsmittel Kunden sich wünschen, dann erhalten Sie ein breiteres Spektrum an Antworten.

Mit Pull-Fragen können Sie Antwortmöglichkeiten bereits in die Frage einbauen.
Mit Pull-Fragen können Sie Antwortmöglichkeiten bereits in die Frage einbauen.

Aus der Vergangenheit auf die Zukunft schließen

Menschen sind Gewohnheitstiere. Befragt, was sie in der Zukunft tun würden oder sich vorstellen könnten, können Antworten oftmals sehr konfus ausfallen.
Aber – und das sollten Sie aus datenbasierten Analysen wissen:

Ein Blick auf vergangenes Verhalten liefert einen Ausblick auf zukünftiges Verhalten.

Fragen Sie Ihre Kunden also ruhig, ob diese eine Aktion schon einmal durchgeführt haben. Dies ist oftmals aussagekräftiger als die Spekulation.
Beispiel: „Haben Sie schon einmal einen der folgenden Zahlungsanbieter genutzt?“ statt „Können Sie sich vorstellen, einen der folgenden Zahlungsanbieter zu nutzen?“. Viele User können sich vorstellen, eine Alternative zu Kreditkarte oder PayPal zu nutzen. Aber wenn sie mit einem Service in der Vergangenheit immer zufrieden waren, werden sie ihn vermutlich weiter nutzen.

Fokussieren Sie sich auf die Schlüsselpunkte

Respektieren Sie Ihre Zeit, aber auch die der Interviewten. Arbeiten Sie daher in einem Gespräch vor allem mit den Essentials Ihrer Customer Journey. Erarbeiten Sie beispielsweise noch die Customer Personas, dann sind demographische Daten für Sie ebenso wichtig. Definieren Sie Ihre Touchpoints und nutzen Sie Ihren Sales Funnel.

Datenbasiertes Arbeiten gibt Ihnen genau Aufschluss über die Stärken und Schwächen Ihrer Customer Journey. In einem Kundeninterview erfahren Sie die Details hierzu aus Kundensicht und können Schwachpunkte ausmerzen.

Das Gesetz der großen Zahlen

Auch Kundeninterviews sind Daten, selbst wenn es sich bei den persönlichen Antworten um softe Datensätze handelt. Das bedeutet auch, dass Sie bessere Ergebnisse sammeln, wenn Sie mit größeren Datensätzen arbeiten.

Selbst bei offenen Fragen werden Sie so schnell Muster erkennen.

Aus dem Interview in die verbesserte Customer Journey Map

Wie aber übersetzen Sie Kundeninterviews in eine bessere und für Sie klarer definierte Customer Journey?

Zunächst einmal können Sie Interviews und Daten dazu nutzen, Ihre Kunden stärker zu segmentieren und deren Perspektive auf Ihr Unternehmen, Ihre Marke und das Wish Fulfillment aufzuzeigen. Kritische Momente und Touchpoints sollten Sie klar notieren und Sie sollten nun ein besseres Verständnis dafür haben, ob Sie – aus Kundensicht – Ihr Markenversprechen tatsächlich halten können.

Eine Customer Journey Map muss dabei nicht visuell spektakulär aufbereitet sein, aber sie sollte klar kommunizieren, wie die Reise der Kunden in der Praxis aussieht.
Erkenntnisse können Sie sofort in Ihr Marketing aufnehmen und etwa jene Punkte betonen, die den Befragten besonders am Herzen lagen oder Ihr Investment in jene Channels stärken, die sich als besonders ergiebig zeigten.

 

Den persönlichen Blick auf die Customer Journey

Kundeninterviews helfen Ihrem Unternehmen in jeder Phase der Customer Journey, von der Leadgenerierung über die Conversion bis hin zur Transformation von Kunden zu Brand Ambassadors.
Vom ersten Touchpoint über das Erlebnis beim Unboxing bis hin zum Kontaktieren des Customer Supports sind es die wertvollen Erfahrungen Ihrer Kunden, die diese nur in einem detaillierten Gespräch teilen können.

Möchten Sie mehr zur Customer Journey, zum Mapping und zur Analyse des Kundenverhaltens erfahren? Wir beraten Sie auch gerne persönlich.

Thorit GmbH Online Marketing, SEO, SEA, Webdesign, Conversion Rate Optimierung, eCommerce hat 4,10 von 5 Sternen 13 Bewertungen auf ProvenExpert.com