The Google Mobile First Index: What you should know

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

With the Google Mobile First Index, Google has become the first search engine to optimally adapt its own search and display criteria to the Adapt and optimize requirements of the time. We will show you the importance of this index for your company and your website, what changes can be made and what is important to optimize your own page for the Mobile First Index.

 

The change in Internet use is reflected in Google

The use of the Internet has changed massively once again in recent years. Both private individuals and business people use the Internet to a much greater extent. via the various mobile devices and much less via stationary desktop computers. This is naturally also reflected in the use of websites and their offerings.

Websites that are not optimized for mobile devices and which cannot display content, for example, must expect more and more users to drop out.

This is now also supported by a search engine like Google account, which pages without such optimization no longer displays or ranks much worse. Therefore, the Google Mobile First Index was created. This has already been established for several years and plays an important role for many decision-makers.

Bedeutung des Google Mobile First-Index
Internet use is predominantly on mobile devices, so websites should be ideally optimized for this.

What is the Google Mobile First Index?

For a long time a Ranking factor named Mobile friendliness an important criterion in the ranking of websites, especially when the searches were performed from mobile devices. However, as one factor among many, it could be overruled by several other factors. Therefore, it could cause some well-known websites to reach top values in Google rankings, but still be barely usable from mobile devices.

The Google Mobile First Index aims to ensure that when a search is performed, the page available for the mobile device is always with all information considered for the ranking will be. This ensures that the search results become better and the Satisfaction of users at the end devices is increasing. After all, the focus of search results is on pages where the results are actually readable and retrievable are.

The methods used by the creators of the site are up to them. Whether a responsive design, a dynamic provision of content or even a separate website for mobile and stationary devices, it has enough options to meet the requirements.

How to make your site attractive and appealing

For a page to be indexed by the Google Mobile First index, it must be optimized for mobile devices and make all data and information available on mobile devices. There are three different approaches to this.

A responsive web design

With responsive design, the website recognizes the Resolution and size of the end device used and optimally adapts the display and the content shown to the device. This makes it particularly easy to optimize a website for all different end devices. The design only needs to be fundamentally adapted.

Google currently gives preference to responsive design as it offers the highest flexibility across all platforms.

Der Google Mobile First-Index legt hohen Wert auf eine optimale Darstellung für jegliche Endgeräte.
The Google Mobile First Index places high value on optimal display for any device. (Image: blog.yipl.com)

Own websites for desktop and mobile devices

An alternative solution is to operate different websites for mobile devices and for desktop users. If these are clearly distinguished and thereby comply with the specifications, the mobile pages can also be listed by the Google Mobile First Index. However, this is associated with a considerable effort for many pages, as always two sides must be maintained, serviced and filled with new content. Especially with dynamic websites, this is difficult to do in the long run.

Dynamic content delivery

It is possible to provide content dynamically via a URL, taking into account the type of device requesting the content. However, this form of provision is technically complex and must be programmed with a lot of care become. Google also actively supports the dynamic provision of content and is of course also prepared to list such websites in the mobile-first index. The important thing is that the provision works well and is clearly identified.

Google offers its own documentation for this.

How to check if your website is listed

The easiest way to check if your website has been listed by Google Mobile First index is to check the Google Search Console because it will be displayed directly in it. But even without Search Console, you can simply pay attention to Google's crawlers. If mobile-first indexing is available, around 80 percent of the crawlers in the user agent will be recognizable as smartphone Google bots. This makes it particularly easy to see where the focus is.

Ein Googlebot erkennt, ob eine Webseite vollständig für ein Smartphone indexiert wurde.
A Googlebot detects whether a web page has been fully indexed for a smartphone. (Image: semrush.com)

Without a mobile website it will be problematic in the future

Analysts assume that the proportion of users of mobile devices will continue to rise in the future. Internet use on stationary desktop computers will still play a role, but will be subordinate. Even business purchases will be made via mobile devices in the future, since here the The various accounts are optimally linked. Therefore, the Google Mobile First Index will also become increasingly important in the future, as sites rely on it.

If you don't show up in the rankings, you're voluntarily or involuntarily giving up a lot of traffic and potential conversions.

Therefore, it is mandatory for most companies in the future, Optimize your own website for mobile devices and land on the Google Mobile First index with it. Companies that have so far refrained from modernizing their own website should therefore make an effort to actively improve it as soon as possible.

Fehler oder Anpassungen können erkannt, analysiert und optimiert werden.
Errors or adjustments can be detected, analyzed and optimized. (Image: semrush.com)

Conclusion: Modern websites should actively support the Google Mobile First index

In today's world, when websites want to measure themselves against the competition, this usually always works through ranking. And with all SEO measures The Google Mobile First Index must also be taken into account, otherwise a large proportion of potential customers will not be served optimally.

So if you've been struggling with steadily shrinking visitor numbers for years, you might want to check whether your own site is already listed in the Mobile First Index.

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

Der Google Mobile First-Index: Das sollten Sie wissen

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Mit dem Google Mobile First-Index hat es Google als erste Suchmaschine geschafft, die eigenen Such- und Anzeigekriterien optimal an die Anforderungen der Zeit anzupassen und zu optimieren. Wir zeigen Ihnen, welche Bedeutung dieser Index für Ihr Unternehmen und Ihre Webseite hat, welche Änderungen vorgenommen werden können und worauf es ankommt, um die eigene Seite für den Mobile First-Index zu optimieren.

 

Die Veränderung der Internet-Nutzung schlägt sich bei Google nieder

Die Nutzung des Internets hat sich in den letzten Jahren nochmals massiv verändert. Sowohl Privatpersonen als auch Geschäftsleute nutzen zum viel größeren Teil das Internet über die verschiedenen mobilen Endgeräte und viel weniger über stationäre Desktop-Computer. Das schlägt sich selbstverständlich auch in der Nutzung von Websites und in deren Angebot nieder.

Webseiten, welche nicht für mobile Endgeräte optimiert sind und welche Inhalte beispielsweise nicht darstellen können, müssen damit rechnen, dass immer mehr Nutzer abspringen.

Dem trägt nun auch eine Suchmaschine wie Google Rechnung, welche Seiten ohne eine solche Optimierung nicht mehr anzeigt oder viel schlechter rankt. Daher wurde der Google Mobile First-Index ins Leben gerufen. Dieser ist seit einigen Jahren bereits etabliert und spielt für viele Entscheider eine wichtige Rolle.

Bedeutung des Google Mobile First-Index
Die Internet-Nutzung läuft überwiegend auf mobilen Endgeräten, daher sollten Webseiten hierfür ideal optimiert werden

Wie ist der Google Mobile First-Index zu verstehen?

Lange Zeit war ein Rankingfaktor namens Mobilfreundlichkeit ein wichtiges Kriterium bei dem Ranking von Webseiten, vor allem dann, wenn die Suchen von mobilen Endgeräten aus durchgeführt wurden. Doch als ein Faktor von vielen konnte dieser von mehreren anderen Faktoren überstimmt werden. Daher konnte es bei einigen bekannten Webseiten dafür sorgen, dass diese in den Google Rankings Top-Werte erreichten, aber dennoch von Mobilgeräten aus kaum nutzbar waren.

Mit dem Google Mobile First-Index möchte sichergestellt werden, dass bei einer Suche immer die für das Mobilgerät verfügbare Seite mit allen Informationen für das Ranking berücksichtigt wird. Das sorgt dafür, dass die Suchergebnisse besser werden und die Zufriedenheit der Nutzer an den Endgeräten steigt. Schließlich stehen die Seiten im Fokus der Suchergebnisse, bei denen die Ergebnisse auch tatsächlich lesbar und abrufbar sind.

Mit welchen Methoden die Ersteller der Seite dabei vorgehen, ist diesen überlassen. Egal ob ein responsives Design, eine dynamische Bereitstellung von Inhalten oder auch eine eigene Website für mobile und stationäre Endgeräte, es hat genügend Möglichkeiten, den Anforderungen zu entsprechen.

So machen Sie Ihre Seite attraktiv und ansprechend

Damit eine Seite vom Google Mobile First-Index indexiert wird, muss diese für Mobilgeräte optimiert sein und auf Mobilgeräten alle Daten und Informationen zur Verfügung stellen. Dazu gibt es drei verschiedene Ansätze.

Ein responsives Webdesign

Bei einem responsiven Design erkennt die Webseite die Auflösung und Größe des genutzten Endgeräts und passt die Darstellung und die dargestellten Inhalte optimal an das Gerät an. Somit ist es besonders einfach, eine Webseite für alle unterschiedlichen Endgeräte zu optimieren. Das Design muss nur grundlegend angepasst werden.

Google gibt dem responsiven Design aktuell den Vorzug, da dieses die höchste Flexibilität über alle Plattformen hinweg bietet.

Der Google Mobile First-Index legt hohen Wert auf eine optimale Darstellung für jegliche Endgeräte.
Der Google Mobile First-Index legt hohen Wert auf eine optimale Darstellung für jegliche Endgeräte. (Bild: blog.yipl.com)

Eigene Webseiten für Desktop- und Mobilgeräte

Eine alternative Lösung ist es, für Mobilgeräte und für Desktop-Nutzer unterschiedliche Webseiten zu betreiben. Wenn diese klar ausgezeichnet sind und dabei den Vorgaben entsprechen, können die mobilen Seiten auch vom Google Mobile First-Index gelistet werden. Allerdings ist dies bei vielen Seiten mit einem erheblichen Aufwand verbunden, da immer zwei Seiten gepflegt, gewartet und mit neuen Inhalten befüllt werden müssen. Vor allem bei dynamischen Webseiten ist dies auf Dauer nur schwer durchführbar.

Dynamische Bereitstellung von Inhalten

Über eine URL Inhalte dynamisch bereitzustellen und dabei zu berücksichtigen, welche Art von Gerät die Inhalte abfragt ist möglich. Allerdings ist diese Form der Bereitstellung technisch aufwändig und muss mit sehr viel Sorgfalt programmiert werden. Google unterstützt auch aktiv die dynamische Bereitstellung von Inhalten und ist selbstverständlich auch bereit, solche Webseiten im Mobile First-Index zu listen. Wichtig ist, dass die Bereitstellung gut funktioniert und klar ausgewiesen ist.

Google bietet hierzu eigene Dokumentationen an.

So prüfen Sie, ob Ihre Webseite gelistet ist

Am einfachsten können Sie überprüfen, ob Ihre Webseite vom Google Mobile First-Index gelistet wurde, wenn Sie die Google Search Console nutzen, denn in dieser wird es direkt angezeigt. Doch auch ohne Search Console können Sie einfach auf die Crawler von Google achten. Ist eine Mobile First-Indexierung vorhanden, werden rund 80 Prozent der Crawler im User-Agenten als Smartphone-Googlebots erkennbar sein. Somit ist es besonders einfach zu erkennen, wo die Schwerpunkte liegen.

Ein Googlebot erkennt, ob eine Webseite vollständig für ein Smartphone indexiert wurde.
Ein Googlebot erkennt, ob eine Webseite vollständig für ein Smartphone indexiert wurde. (Bild: semrush.com)

Ohne mobile Webseite wird es in Zukunft problematisch

Analysten gehen davon aus, dass in Zukunft der Anteil der Nutzer von mobilen Endgeräten immer weiter ansteigen wird. Die Nutzung des Internets an stationären Desktop-Computern wird zwar immer noch eine Rolle spielen, aber untergeordnet sein. Selbst geschäftliche Einkäufe werden in Zukunft über Mobilgeräte getätigt, da hier die verschiedenen Konten bestens verknüpft zusammenlaufen. Daher wird auch der Google Mobile First-Index in Zukunft immer wichtiger werden, da Seiten auf diesen angewiesen sind.

Wer nicht in den Rankings auftaucht, verzichtet freiwillig oder unfreiwillig auf eine Menge an Traffic und möglichen Conversions.

Daher ist es für die meisten Unternehmen in Zukunft zwingend nötig, die eigene Webseite für Mobilgeräte zu optimieren und mit dieser auf dem Google Mobile First-Index zu landen. Unternehmen, welche bisher auf Modernisierungen der eigenen Website verzichtet haben, sollten sich also schnellstmöglich bemühen, sich aktiv zu verbessern.

Fehler oder Anpassungen können erkannt, analysiert und optimiert werden.
Fehler oder Anpassungen können erkannt, analysiert und optimiert werden. (Bild: semrush.com)

Fazit: Moderne Webseiten sollten den Google Mobile First-Index aktiv unterstützen

Wenn sich Webseiten in der heutigen Zeit mit der Konkurrenz messen lassen möchten, dann funktioniert dies in der Regel immer über das Ranking. Und bei allen SEO-Maßnahmen darf eben auch der Google Mobile First-Index nicht unberücksichtigt bleiben, da ansonsten ein Großteil der möglichen Kunden nicht optimal bedient wird.

Wer also seit Jahren mit beständig schrumpfenden Besucherzahlen zu kämpfen hat, sollte eventuell überprüfen, ob die eigene Seite bereits im Mobile First-Index gelistet ist.

Tags: 

Teilen: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Für Sie empfohlener Content.

Erklärungsbedarf? Wir legen Wert darauf, dass Sie die Möglichkeit haben sich weiterzubilden. In unserem Magazin vermitteln wir Grundlagen und informieren sie zu aktuellen Themen aus den Bereichen Marketing & Technology.