The new Google Ads campaign type "Performance Max"

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Aiming for optimal performance, the new Google Ads Performance Max campaign type relies on automation. The development sounds understandable - after all, artificial intelligence (AI) have become ubiquitous. Through automation, the Effort, create, manage and optimize campaigns clearly reduces.

In this article you will get an insight into how Performance Max works and the main benefits.

 

What does Google Ads Performance Max mean?

In November 2021, Google Ads introduced Performance Max as a new campaign type. With the new Google Ads Campaign type it is possible, With a single campaign on all Google channels to place ads with minimal set-up effort. This means, after a small effort, the Google algorithm takes over essential tasks.

Google Ads Performance Max is designed to complement existing keyword-based search campaigns and reach more potential customers.

Relevant target groups are reached on all Google channels, such as:

  • Google Search
  • YouTube
  • Google Display Advertising Network (GDN)
  • Google Discover
  • Gmail
  • Google
  • Maps

Performance Max campaigns: how it works

Performance Max campaigns are created in the usual way within the campaign overview. First, the advertiser specifies the goals. These are for example:

  • Sales
  • Leads
  • Accesses to the website

Likewise, without setting a target, on the next page you can select the campaign type, among others Performance Max (depending on the ad also "Maximum Performance").
It should be noted that the various Google Channels each a different phase in the Customer Journey of the customer. Therefore, it makes sense to specify multiple goals for Google Ads Performance Max.

The higher-level goals such as sales or traffic can be achieved by the suitable conversion action can be specified. These can be purchases or sent lead forms, for example. During playout, the Performance Max campaigns are automatically optimized for the specified targets. Targets can be prioritized by assigning a conversion value to them.

Bid and budget strategy

Matching the target, as an advertiser you can choose between the following strategies:

Cost per action (CPA) target

Here, the focus is on the Maximization of conversions and additionally specified the target costs. This means a more sales-related target.

Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS)

The focus here is on the Conversion Value Maximization. The focus here is on the efficiency of the advertising measures. In this strategy, sales, operating expenses and advertising expenses are put into perspective.

Zoom with margin
(Image: segment.com)

The so-called "brand safety measures", which ensure that ads are played out to the relevant target groups, also apply to Google Ads Performance Max campaigns. For example Keywords be excluded. Individual Google channels, in turn, cannot be excluded.

Different ads are automatically created with images, videos and texts

The different assets can be uploaded to automatically create ads for the different formats. Google recommends to start from the Upload possibility to make abundant use.

In this way, possible combinations can be tested at an early stage and the learning effect takes effect all the more quickly. The Google algorithm works more efficiently when it has many creatives at its disposal.

Helpful for this are Asset Groupswhich are similar to ad groups. Each asset group contains creatives on a specific topic. For example, an asset group that targets lead forms or one that targets phone calls.

Furthermore, a target group signal is added to each asset group. This is intended to achieve additional conversions on Google for the Google Ads Performance Max campaigns. The advertiser uses the target group signal to indicate which customers are particularly likely to convert. This signal can also consist of data collected by the advertiser. In the campaigns, this signal is used to search specifically for users who have a minimum of similar purchase intention have. This is how conversions are achieved in search campaigns, display campaigns, and video campaigns.

Enjoy the benefits of Google's new campaign type

Performance Max is designed to optimize the performance of existing campaigns in Google Ads. The following advantages in particular speak for testing the new Google Ads campaign type.

Customers are reached via all channels. Since the campaigns are played out across all Google channels, the possibilities of generating conversions are significantly higher. Finally, the different habits of customers (images, moving images or text) are taken into account. Google uses real-time data. This means that changed customer intentions are immediately incorporated into the campaign.

Through machine learning continuous optimization. Google continuously analyzes which ads perform best in which combinations. Thus, the contacts that are proven to be most likely to lead to customer actions are automatically optimized. This keeps the focus on the defined business objective.

Vorteile von Google Ads Performance Max Kampagnen
There are some advantages with Google Ads' new campaign type. (Image: support.google.com)

More efficient controlling for advertisers. Meaningful asset reports give companies better insight into the performance of individual Google Ads campaigns. The reports make it clear which creatives have an impact on the success of the campaigns and how. Google takes into account recognizable changes in trends in search interests. In this way, you receive valuable information for interpreting changes in the performance of your campaigns. The profitability can thus be continuously optimized by the advertiser himself.

Automation saves time. In addition to the increase in performance, you as an advertiser experience an enormous reduction in workload and thus time savings. You control the efficiency of the automation by providing targeted information to the Google algorithm.

 Easy customization of Google Ads advertising campaigns. Through the simple exchange of assets and creatives, i.e. your advertising elements, the automation results in a rapid optimization of your entire campaign.

 

Conclusion

The new campaign tool from Google Ads, Performance Max, makes it possible to advertise in all Google channels simultaneously with just one campaign. The goal is to optimize conversions in addition to making work easier for advertisers. According to Google, the cost-benefit ratio is optimized and more new customers are generated. In addition, around 13 percent more conversions are generated with the same budget.

Especially in companies that do not have their own qualified marketing experts, the new campaign type of Google Ads offers efficient possibilities. Advertising campaigns are optimized and with little effort are advertised on all Google channels simultaneously.

Tags: 

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

Der neue Google Ads Kampagnentyp „Performance Max“

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Mit dem Ziel, die optimale Leistung zu erzielen, setzt der neue Kampagnentyp von Google Ads Performance Max auf Automatisierung. Die Entwicklung klingt nachvollziehbar – schließlich ist künstliche Intelligenz (KI) inzwischen allgegenwärtig. Durch die Automatisierung wird der Aufwand, Kampagnen zu erstellen, verwalten und zu optimieren deutlich reduziert.

In diesem Beitrag erhalten Sie einen Einblick in die Funktionsweise von Performance Max und die wesentlichen Vorteile.

 

Was bedeutet Google Ads Performance Max?

Im November 2021 hat Google Ads Performance Max als neuen Kampagnentyp vorgestellt. Mit dem neuen Google Ads Kampagnentyp ist es möglich, mit einer einzigen Kampagne auf allen Google Kanälen mit minimalem Set-up-Aufwand Werbeanzeigen zu schalten. Das bedeutet, nach einem geringen Aufwand übernimmt der Google Algorithmus wesentliche Aufgaben.

Google Ads Performance Max ist als Ergänzung zu den bestehenden keywordbasierten Suchkampagnen angelegt und soll bei mehr potenziellen Kunden ankommen.

Die relevanten Zielgruppen werden auf allen Google-Kanälen erreicht, wie etwa:

  • Google Suche
  • YouTube
  • Google Display-Werbenetzwerk (GDN)
  • Google Discover
  • Gmail
  • Google
  • Maps

Performance Max Kampagnen: die Funktionsweise

Performance Max Kampagnen werden in gewohnter Weise innerhalb der Kampagnen-Übersicht erstellt. Zunächst gibt der Werbetreibende die Ziele vor. Diese sind beispielsweise:

  • Umsätze
  • Leads
  • Zugriffe auf die Website

Ebenso kann ohne Zielvorgabe auf der nächsten Seite der Kampagnentyp, unter anderem Performance Max (je nach Anzeige auch „Maximale Performance“) ausgewählt werden.
Zu beachten ist, dass die verschiedenen Google Kanäle eine jeweils unterschiedliche Phase in der Customer Journey des Kunden ansprechen. Daher geben Sie sinnvollerweise bei Google Ads Performance Max mehrere Ziele vor.

Die übergeordneten Ziele wie Umsätze oder Traffic können durch die passende Conversion-Aktion spezifiziert werden. Dies können etwa Käufe oder gesendete Lead Formulare sein. Während der Ausspielung werden die Performance Max Kampagnen automatisch auf die vorgegebenen Ziele optimiert. Dabei können Ziele priorisiert werden, indem diesen ein Conversion-Wert zugewiesen wird.

Gebots- und Budgetstrategie

Passend zum Ziel, können Sie sich als Werbetreibender zwischen folgenden Strategien entscheiden:

Ziel für den Cost per Action (CPA)

Hierbei wird der Schwerpunkt auf die Maximierung der Conversions gelegt und zusätzlich die Zielkosten angegeben. Das bedeutet eine eher umsatzbezogene Zielsetzung.

Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS)

Der Fokus liegt hierbei auf die Conversion-Wert-Maximierung. Die Effizienz der Werbemaßnahmen steht hier im Vordergrund. Bei dieser Strategie werden Umsatz, Betriebsausgaben und Werbeausgaben ins Verhältnis gesetzt.

Zoom with margin
(Bild: segment.com)

Die sogenannten „Brand-Safety-Maßnahmen“, die das Ausspielen der Anzeigen an die relevanten Zielgruppen sicherstellen, gelten ebenso für die Google Ads Performance Max Kampagnen. So können etwa Keywords ausgeschlossen werden. Einzelne Google Kanäle können wiederum nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

Mit Bildern, Videos und Texten werden automatisch unterschiedliche Anzeigen erstellt

Die unterschiedlichen Assets können hochgeladen werden, um daraus automatisch Anzeigen für die unterschiedlichen Formate entstehen zu lassen. Google empfiehlt dabei, von der Upload Möglichkeit reichlich Gebrauch zu machen.

So können mögliche Kombinationen frühzeitig getestet werden und der Lerneffekt greift umso schneller. Der Google Algorithmus arbeitet effizienter, wenn ihm viele Creatives zur Verfügung stehen.

Hilfreich dazu sind Asset-Groups, die den Anzeigengruppen ähneln. In einer Asset-Group sind jeweils Creatives zu einem bestimmten Thema enthalten. Dies ist etwa eine Asset-Group mit dem Ziel für Lead-Formulare oder eine mit dem Ziel, Telefonanrufe zu generieren.

Ferner wird jeder Asset-Group ein Zielgruppensignal hinzugefügt. Damit sollen bei den Google Ads Performance Max Kampagnen zusätzliche Conversions auf Google erreicht werden. Der Werbetreibende gibt mit dem Zielgruppensignal an, bei welchen Kunden die Conversion-Wahrscheinlichkeit besonders hoch ist. Dieses Signal kann auch aus selbst erhobenen Daten bestehen. In den Kampagnen wird unter Verwendung dieses Signals gezielt nach Nutzern gesucht, welche eine mindestens ähnliche Kaufabsicht haben. So werden Conversions in Suchkampagnen, Displaykampagnen und Videokampagnen erreicht.

Die Vorteile von Googles neuem Kampagnentyp genießen

Performance Max ist darauf ausgerichtet, die Performance der bisherigen Kampagnen in Google Ads zu optimieren. Für das Testen des neuen Google Ads Kampagnentyps sprechen insbesondere die nachstehenden Vorteile.

Kunden werden über alle Kanäle erreicht. Da die Kampagnen über alle Google Kanäle ausgespielt werden, sind die Möglichkeiten der Generierung von Conversions deutlich höher. Schließlich werden die unterschiedlichen Gewohnheiten der Kunden (Bilder, bewegte Bilder oder Text) berücksichtigt. Google verwendet Echtzeitdaten. Damit werden geänderte Kundenabsichten sofort mit in die Kampagne eingebracht.

Durch maschinelles Lernen kontinuierliche Optimierung. Google analysiert laufend, welche Anzeigen in welchen Kombinationen die besten Leistungen erzielen. Somit werden die Kontakte automatisch optimiert, die nachweislich am ehesten zu Aktionen der Kunden führen. Dadurch steht das definierte Unternehmensziel im Fokus.

Vorteile von Google Ads Performance Max Kampagnen
Es ergeben sich einige Vorteile mit dem neuen Kampagnentyp von Google Ads. (Bild: support.google.com)

Effizienteres Controlling für Werbetreibende. Durch aussagekräftige Asset-Berichte erhalten Unternehmen einen besseren Einblick in die Performance der einzelnen Google Ads Kampagnen. Die Berichte verdeutlichen, welche Creatives sich wie auf den Erfolg der Kampagnen auswirken. Google lässt dabei erkennbar geänderte Trends bei den Suchinteressen einfließen. Auf diese Weise erhalten Sie wertvolle Hinweise, um Leistungsänderungen Ihrer Kampagnen zu interpretieren. Die Wirtschaftlichkeit lässt sich damit vom Werbetreibenden selbst laufend optimieren.

Automatisierung bringt Zeitersparnis. Neben der Leistungssteigerung erfahren Sie als Werbetreibender eine enorme Arbeitserleichterung und damit Zeitersparnis. Die Effizienz der Automatisierung steuern Sie, indem Sie dem Google Algorithmus gezielte Informationen zur Verfügung stellen.

 Einfache Anpassung der Google Ads Werbekampagnen. Durch den simplen Austausch von Assets und Creatives, also Ihren Werbeelementen, bewirkt die Automatisierung in der Folgewirkung eine schnelle Optimierung Ihrer gesamten Kampagne.

 

Fazit

Das neue Kampagnentool von Google Ads, Performance Max, ermöglicht, mit lediglich einer Kampagne in allen Google Kanälen gleichzeitig zu werben. Das Ziel dabei ist, neben der Arbeitserleichterung für den Werbetreibenden, die Conversions zu optimieren. Nach Aussage von Google wird das Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis optimiert und es werden mehr Neukunden generiert. Daneben sollen bei gleichem Budget rund 13 Prozent mehr Conversions generiert werden.

Gerade in Unternehmen, die nicht über eigene qualifizierte Marketingexperten verfügen, bietet der neue Kampagnentyp von Google Ads effiziente Möglichkeiten. Werbekampagnen werden optimiert und mit wenig Aufwand wird auf allen Google Kanälen gleichzeitig geworben.

Tags: 

Teilen: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Für Sie empfohlener Content.

Erklärungsbedarf? Wir legen Wert darauf, dass Sie die Möglichkeit haben sich weiterzubilden. In unserem Magazin vermitteln wir Grundlagen und informieren sie zu aktuellen Themen aus den Bereichen Marketing & Technology.