5 methods for successful project management in online marketing

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Excellent project management skills are an important success factor for your Online marketing project. The change from a product-oriented to a consistently customer-oriented perspective changes the approaches and methods. Interdisciplinary teams, including the integration of external service providers and the customer, place high demands on project managers from both a technical and a human perspective. The focus is on holistic and user-oriented problem solutions. Experienced project managers lead your project through the use of future-oriented methods. Online marketing project to success - while meeting budget, performance and time targets.

 

Agile project management as a success factor

Whether web and app development, relaunch, eBusiness solution or SEO project - well thought-out planning at the beginning is important so that projects do not run the risk of failing. This includes comprehensive communication with the client to clarify expectations, required resources and project goals on both sides and to set them down in writing. Clarification of the framework conditions is important in order not to lose focus in dynamic working environments and to be able to flexibly adapt changes that arise during the course of the project to the strategic goals of the project.

Agile project management is indispensable for successfully mastering the diverse challenges. In times of heterogeneous teams with members from different departments and the inclusion of external stakeholders, an agile approach is an important basis for efficient collaboration. Agile methods in project management are characterized by close coordination among the individual team members. Continuous exchange and the ability to react with maximum flexibility are important success factors.

Within agile project management, there are various methods that ensure that projects in online marketing are implemented efficiently and with high quality. Many are based on the overarching project management method Scrum, which provides a comprehensive framework and defines roles for individual team members.

Method 1 - Inclusion of current marketing activities

Every project in online marketing is closely related to the company's internal and external environment. An overview of ongoing marketing activities creates the necessary conditions to launch a new Online marketing project in the context of current projects and to exploit synergy effects. To do this, it is important to get all the people involved around the table. Knowledge of the strengths, weaknesses and successes of the individual marketing activities provides important indications of the strategic approach to be taken for the new Online marketing project. From the findings, possible team members and - not at first glance obvious - project goals can be identified. The discussion consistently focuses on the individual target groups for which a Online marketing project is initiated. New ideas are welcome - analogous to a Scrum Planning Meeting.

Method 2 - Use of professional project management software

Professional project management software provides continuous support in project implementation. All team members thus know what is currently to be done, for what reason and how. Tools specially developed for teams enable work to be carried out independently of location and time. The outsourcing of certain process steps - such as design and programming - is part of many Online marketing projects to everyday life. With the help of project management software, it is possible to create project plans, coordinate tasks and deadlines, and control the workload of individual members. Automated processes help teams save time in the completion of routine tasks. Annoying e-mails thus become largely superfluous.

Method 3 - Regular stand-up meetings

Short meetings via a video platform - e.g. Skype - ensure a continuous flow of information that goes beyond pure software support. They convey important information on the current project status. The duration should not exceed 15 minutes. How often meetings are held depends on the project phase and the required intensity of communication. The minimum is once a week. If a project in online marketing is in a phase that requires many decisions, meetings every one to two days are useful. In each meeting, the following questions are clarified:

  • What has been worked through since the last meeting?
  • What tasks need to be completed before the next meeting?
  • What are the risks, problems and potential difficulties?

If an open communication culture prevails, the so-called stand-up meetings contribute significantly to the success of the project. In order to avoid distractions, maintain the time limit of 15 minutes and the informal character, it makes sense to hold the meeting standing up. The idea follows Daily Scrum Meetings.

Method 4 - Sprints for fixed time intervals

Sprints are central elements in agile project management. A proven duration for Online marketing projects is 14 days. They allow individual team members to perform all the work necessary to achieve a goal. Each sprint phase consists of sprint planning, task execution, and a review. Monitoring the results of the sprint gives a client comprehensive control options at key milestones. The client has the opportunity to influence the progress of the project at these points and - if necessary - to make strategic adjustments. For team members, sprints have the advantage of clear time constraints. Sprints increase motivation. Stand-up meetings are a fixed component of sprints and serve to exchange information within this comparatively quiet project phase.

Method 5 - Daily time tracking

Daily time tracking is an important basis for certain fee models and allows teams to learn from projects. Based on experience, they can better estimate required times. Keeping track of time and budget and making them realistic ensures satisfaction within teams and on the client side. Nothing is worse than surprises towards the end of a project - due to a lack of transparency - and online marketing projects not being completed on time. Time is the most important resource within a project. Managing it successfully allows teams to have a buffer available to react spontaneously and confidently to changing targets. Based on time tracking, optimization potentials can be identified and subsequent projects can be designed more efficiently.


At the beginning of each Online marketing project stands good planning. We are happy to support you in finding the optimal solutions for your project and successfully implement your requirements.

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

preloader
Scroll to top
Thorit GmbH
Binsenstraße 13
91088 Bubenreuth
Anfragen
P: + (49) 09131 9279 515
M: sales@thorit.de

5 Methoden für erfolgreiches Projektmanagement im Online Marketing

Ausgezeichnete Projektmanagement-Skills sind ein wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor für Online Marketing-Projekt. Durch die Veränderung einer produktorientierten zu einer konsequent kundenorientierten Perspektive ändern sich die Herangehensweisen und Methoden. Fachübergreifende Teams inklusive der Einbindung externer Dienstleister und des Kunden stellen – aus fachlicher und menschlicher Sicht – hohe Anforderungen an Projektmanager. Ganzheitliche und nutzerorientierte Problemlösungen stehen im Fokus. Erfahrene Projektmanager führen durch den Einsatz zukunftsorientierter Methoden Ihr Online Marketing-Projekt zum Erfolg – unter der Einhaltung von Budget-, Leistungs- und Zeitvorgaben.

 

Agiles Projektmanagement als Erfolgsfaktor

Ob Web- und App-Entwicklung, Relaunch, eBusiness-Lösung oder SEO-Projekt – eine durchdachte Planung zu Beginn ist wichtig, damit Projekte nicht Gefahr laufen, zu scheitern. Dazu gehört eine umfassende Kommunikation mit dem Auftraggeber, um Erwartungshaltungen, benötigte Ressourcen und Projektziele auf beiden Seiten zu klären und schriftlich zu fixieren. Die Klärung der Rahmenbedingungen ist wichtig, um in dynamischen Arbeitsumgebungen nicht den Fokus zu verlieren und sich im Projektverlauf ergebende Änderungen flexibel an die strategischen Ziele des Projektes anpassen zu können.

Agiles Projektmanagement ist unverzichtbar, um die vielfältigen Herausforderungen erfolgreich zu bewältigen. In Zeiten heterogener Teams mit Mitgliedern aus unterschiedlichen Abteilungen und des Einbezugs externer Stakeholder ist ein agiles Vorgehen eine wichtige Basis für eine effiziente Zusammenarbeit. Agile Methoden im Projektmanagement zeichnen sich durch eine enge Abstimmung der einzelnen Teammitglieder untereinander aus. Ein kontinuierlicher Austausch und die Möglichkeit mit maximaler Flexibilität reagieren zu können, sind wichtige Erfolgsfaktoren.

Innerhalb des agilen Projektmanagements gibt es unterschiedliche Methoden, die dafür sorgen, dass Vorhaben im Online Marketing effizient und mit hoher Qualität umgesetzt werden. Viele basieren auf der übergeordneten Projektmanagement-Methode Scrum, welche ein umfassendes Framework bereitstellt und Rollen für einzelne Teammitglieder definiert.

Methode 1 – Einbezug aktueller Marketing-Aktivitäten

Jedes Projekt im Online Marketing steht in engem Bezug mit der unternehmensinternen und -externen Umwelt. Eine Übersicht über laufende Marketing Aktivitäten schafft die nötigen Voraussetzungen, um ein neues Online Marketing-Projekt im Kontext aktueller Projekte zu verorten und Synergieeffekte zu nutzen. Dazu ist es wichtig, alle beteiligten Personen an einen Tisch zu holen. Das Wissen um Stärken, Schwächen und Erfolge der einzelnen Marketing Aktivitäten liefert wichtige Hinweise auf das strategische Vorgehen für das neue Online Marketing-Projekt. Aus den Erkenntnissen lassen sich mögliche Teammitglieder und – nicht auf den ersten Blick offensichtliche – Projektziele identifizieren. Im Mittelpunkt der Diskussion stehen konsequent die einzelnen Zielgruppen, für die ein Online Marketing-Projekt initiiert wird. Neue Ideen sind – analog zu einem Scrum Planning Meeting – willkommen.

Methode 2 – Einsatz einer professionellen Projektmangement-Software

Kontinuierliche Unterstützung in der Projektumsetzung bietet eine professionelle Projektmanagement-Software. Sämtliche Teammitglieder wissen somit, was aktuell, aus welchem Grund und wie erledigt werden soll. Speziell für Teams entwickelte Tools ermöglichen orts- und zeitunabhängiges Arbeiten. Das Outsourcing bestimmter Prozessschritte – wie Design und Programmierung – gehört in vielen Online Marketing-Projekten zum Alltag. Mithilfe einer Projektmanagement-Software ist es möglich, Projektpläne zu erstellen, Aufgaben und Fristen zu koordinieren sowie die Auslastung der einzelnen Mitglieder zu steuern. Automatisierte Prozesse helfen Teams dabei, Zeit in der Erledigung von Routineaufgaben zu sparen. Lästige E-Mails werden damit weitgehend überflüssig.

Methode 3 – Regelmäßige Stand-up Meetings

Kurze Meetings über eine Video-Plattform – z. B. Skype – sorgen für einen kontinuierlichen Informationsfluss, der über die reine Software-Unterstützung hinausgeht. Sie vermitteln wichtige Informationen zum aktuellen Projektstand. Die Dauer sollte 15 Minuten nicht überschreiten. Wie oft Meetings abgehalten werden, hängt von der Projektphase und der erforderlichen Intensität der Kommunikation ab. Das Minimum ist einmal wöchentlich. Befindet sich ein Projekt im Online Marketing in einer Phase, die viele Entscheidungen erfordert, sind Meetings im ein- bis zweitägigen Turnus sinnvoll. In jedem Meeting werden folgende Fragen geklärt:

  • Was wurde seit dem letzten Meeting abgearbeitet?
  • Welche Aufgaben sind bis zum nächsten Meeting zu erledigen?
  • Welche Risiken, Probleme und potenziellen Schwierigkeiten gibt es?

Herrscht eine offene Kommunikationskultur, tragen die sogenannten Stand-up Meetings wesentlich zum Projekterfolg bei. Um Ablenkungen zu vermeiden, die Zeitvorgabe von 15 Minuten und den informalen Charakter beizubehalten, ist es sinnvoll, das Meeting im Stehen abzuhalten. Die Idee folgt Daily Scrum Meetings.

Methode 4 – Sprints für festgelegte Zeitintervalle

Sprints sind zentrale Elemente im agilen Projektmanagement. Eine bewährte Dauer für Online Marketing-Projekte liegt bei 14 Tagen. Sie ermöglichen es den einzelnen Teammitgliedern, sämtliche Arbeiten auszuführen, die zur Erreichung eines Ziels nötig sind. Jede Sprintphase besteht aus einer Sprintplanung, der Ausführung der Aufgaben sowie einem Review. Die Kontrolle der Ergebnisse des Sprints geben einem Kunden umfassende Kontrollmöglichkeiten an wichtigen Meilensteinen. Der Auftraggeber hat die Möglichkeit, den Projektfortschritt an diesen Punkten zu beeinflussen und – bei Bedarf – strategische Anpassungen vorzunehmen. Für die Teammitglieder haben Sprints den Vorteil, dass klare Zeitvorgaben existieren. Sprints steigern die Motivation. Stand-up Meetings sind ein fester Bestandteil von Sprints und dienen dem Informationsaustausch innerhalb dieser vergleichsweise ruhigen Projektphase.

Methode 5 – Tägliche Zeiterfassung

Die tägliche Zeiterfassung ist eine wichtige Basis für bestimmte Honorarmodelle und ermöglicht es Teams aus Projekten zu lernen. Basierend auf Erfahrungswerten können sie benötigte Zeiten besser einzuschätzen. Zeit und Budget im Überblick zu behalten und realistisch zu gestalten, sorgt für Zufriedenheit innerhalb von Teams und auf Kundenseite. Nichts ist schlimmer, als wenn es gegen Projektende – aufgrund mangelnder Transparenz – zu Überraschungen kommt und Projekte im Online Marketing nicht fristgerecht abgeschlossen werden können. Zeit ist die wichtigste Ressource innerhalb eines Projektes. Diese erfolgreich zu managen, ermöglicht es Teams, einen Puffer zur Verfügung zu haben, um auf geänderte Zielvorgaben spontan und souverän reagieren zu können. Auf Basis des Time-Tracking lassen sich Optimierungspotenziale erkennen und Folgeprojekte effizienter gestalten.


Am Anfang jeden Online Marketing-Projektes steht eine gute Planung. Wir unterstützen Sie gerne dabei, die optimalen Lösungen für Ihr Vorhaben zu finden und setzen Ihre Anforderungen erfolgreich um.

Thorit GmbH Online Marketing, SEO, SEA, Webdesign, Conversion Rate Optimierung, eCommerce hat 4,10 von 5 Sternen 13 Bewertungen auf ProvenExpert.com