Managing the customer journey through social media

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

From the first contact to the final purchase decision, customers put a path behind them. This happens via various Touchpoints such as websites, social media presences and offline channels. As a company, it is essential to follow this path. understand and target through marketing measures to accompany the customer. Which stations have a decisive influence on the customer's decision, which points of contact are there, and where do customers drop out again? Tracking this is the task of the Customer Journey Social media.

 

 

What is the relevance of the customer journey?

The Customer Journey serves the alignment and optimization in marketing and contributes to the Needs of the customer as fully as possible. Observations are not limited to the company's own website or social media presence, but are also expanded to include the Behavior at all direct and indirect touchpoints extended. A touchpoint can be the company's website or an advertising banner, a tweet or a product photo on Instagram. It is only through their addition that it becomes possible to Decision journey of the customer almost completely record and evaluate.

From this, companies gain the knowledge in which phase they should best address customers with which messages.

This approach is designed to enable companies to Brand experience of the customer along the customer journey comprehend and analyze to be able to. This gives us the opportunity to address customers appropriately, to support and imbue their interactions with positive emotions. This leads to a reduction in customer churn.

In the customer journey, therefore, the entire Purchase decision process of the customer is presented as a kind of journey. At the beginning a need is created and at the end the final purchase decision and beyond that Customer loyalty and support stand. For many potential customers, the customer journey now runs predominantly in the area of the Social media, where then also the first Touch points with the brand or the company. It is important that the customer comes across this touchpoint during his search for specific information on his concern.

Social Media Touchpoints während der Customer Journey
Possible social media touchpoints during the customer journey (Image: touchpoints.ch)

AIDA model: Four phases to the purchase decision

The Customer Journey takes a holistic approach to tracking the customer's journey from the first point of contact (Touchpoint) with a product, the company or similar up to the final purchase decision to follow. This path is divided into individual phases based on the four-stage AIDA model based. AIDA stands for:

  1. Attention
  2. Interest
  3. Desire
  4. Action

The first phase (Attention) of the customer journey describes the Orientation of the customerThe first points of contact are often in the area of social media in the form of ads (View). However, this phase can just as well be initiated by videos, images and texts (advice texts in blogs, forums and social networks) and thus set the research in motion. The transition to the specification phase (Interest) is fluid. Images on Pinterest or Instagram open up new possibilities for the customer on his Search for a specific species of products the spectrum of alternatives offered to him.

This is followed by the provider selection phase. The customer is now looking for more detailed informationto decide in favor of a particular product on the basis of this information. In this phase, well-researched content is required, be it in the form of videos or guide texts, with the help of which final doubts can be dispelled. High quality content are all the more important because customers make comparisons at this stage. At this point at the latest, good ratings and reviews of your own products in social media pay off.

Touchpoint Online Shop

In the last phase (Action) the Contact with the provider. The conversion from User to customer usually takes place on the company website or in the online store by registering and completing the purchase. However, shopping offers in social media now also allow purchases to be made directly in social media.

Sales Funnel and Customer Decision Journey

In order to complete the phases of Playing to the customer journey appropriately, the model of the Sales Funnels is used. This funnel illustrates how the Number of interested parties becomes smaller with each phase. This means that fewer customers actually make a purchase than were initially interested. The presentation and analysis of the customer journey using the sales funnel ends with the conclusion of the purchase.

Going a little further, the consulting firm McKinsey has developed the Customer Decision Journey. Here, too, the customer initially weighs up various brands to see which might be suitable for him. He initially limits himself to brands he is familiar with. Subsequently, the own preferences were taken into account in order to make a preselection.. The user decides which of the products on offer is the most likely solution and then makes the purchase in the next phase. At this point, the user becomes a customer. The experience gained with the product is incorporated into future purchasing decisions.

Moment of Truth - the moment of truth

One of the most famous models today comes from the company Procter&Gamble and is called Moments of Truth. This model divides the process of purchase decision into three phases: Stimulus, First Moment of Truth, and Second Moment of Truth. The stimulus draws the customer's attention to a product Attentive. This can be an advertising banner, a blog post, or social media content such as an image on Instagram, a tweet, and reviews on YouTube.

Beispiel Customer Journey
Example of a Customer Journey (Image: marketing-boerse.de)

If the customer decides in favor of a brand or product on the basis of the stimulus, this is referred to as a First Moment of Truth designated. The Second Moment of Truth is not long in coming: the customer consumes the product and makes his own experience with it.

In the literature, the individual terms are now interpreted differently. According to Alan George Lafley of Procter&Gamble, the First Moment of Truth is the moment in which the Customer perceives the product for the first time. The Second Moment of Truth is that moment in which the customer has the Quality promise of a product is checked after purchase.

In addition, it was also possible to Third Moment of Truth which is particularly relevant for the social media sector. This refers to the moment at which the customer receives a Judgment about a product or brand so he gives himself positive or negative about it. In practice, this happens, for example, via comments under certain entries, images of the product, reviews designed as videos, or tweets. This content can in turn become a touchpoint in the customer journey of other customers.

Empfehlungen Social Media 1
Recommendations on social media (Image: internetworld.com)

Ultimate Moment of Truth and Zero Moment of Truth

Experience has shown that statements from customers have a very High range can achieve. This is important for online marketing, especially in the area of the Social media monitoringof great importance. Whether as a review or rating in e-commerce, as a comment under company articles or entries in forums. For the implementation of campaigns, the Third Moment of Truth as part of the customer journey through social media plays an essential role.

In this context, the Ultimate Moment of Truth should be mentioned. Because this refers to the moment when consumers make their Share experiences with other users on social mediawithout necessarily including the presence of the company. It should be noted that the Ultimate Moment of Truth of one user can lead to the Zero Moment of Truth of another user and thus start their customer journey.

 

 

It is important that they comprehensively monitor these activities on social media in order to both spread positive feedback through sharing as well as Respond to criticism in a timely manner, to invalidate or narrow this down.

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

preloader
Scroll to top
Thorit GmbH
Binsenstraße 13
91088 Bubenreuth
Anfragen
P: + (49) 09131 9279 515
M: sales@thorit.de

Customer Journey durch Social Media leiten

Vom ersten Kontakt bis zur endgültigen Kaufentscheidung legen Kunden einen Weg hinter sich. Dies geschieht über verschiedene Touchpoints wie Websites, Social Media Auftritte und offline Kanäle. Als Unternehmen ist es essentiell, diesen Weg zu verstehen und gezielt durch Marketingmaßnahmen zu begleiten. Welche Stationen beeinflussen maßgeblich die Entscheidung des Kunden, welche Berührungspunkte gibt es und wo springen Kunden wieder ab? Dies nachzuverfolgen ist Aufgabe der Customer Journey.

 

 

Welche Relevanz kommt der Customer Journey zu?

Die Customer Journey dient der Ausrichtung und Optimierung im Marketing und trägt dazu bei, die Bedürfnisse des Kunden möglichst vollumfänglich zu verstehen. Die Beobachtungen beschränken sich dabei nicht nur auf die eigene Webseite oder Social Media Auftritte, sondern werden auch um das Verhalten an allen direkten und indirekten Touchpoints erweitert. Bei einem Berührungspunkt kann es sich um die Webseite des Unternehmens handeln oder ein Werbebanner, einen Tweet oder ein ein Produktfoto auf Instagram. Erst durch deren Hinzunahme wird es möglich, die Entscheidungsreise des Kunden nahezu komplett zu erfassen und auszuwerten.

Unternehmen gewinnen daraus die Erkenntnis, in welcher Phase sie Kunden mit welchen Botschaften am besten ansprechen sollen.

Dieser Ansatz soll es Unternehmen ermöglichen, die Markenerfahrung des Kunden entlang der Customer Journey nachvollziehen und analysieren zu können. Daraus ergibt sich die Möglichkeit, Kunden passend anzusprechen, zu unterstützen und ihre Interaktionen mit positiven Emotionen zu besetzen. Dies führt zu einer Reduzierung der Kundenabwanderung.

Bei der Customer Journey wird also der gesamte Kaufentscheidungsprozess des Kunden als eine Art Reise dargestellt. Am Anfang wird ein Bedürfnis erzeugt und am Ende die finale Kaufentscheidung und darüber hinaus Kundenbindung und -support stehen. Für viele potenzielle Kunden verläuft die Customer Journey mittlerweile überwiegend im Bereich der Social Media, wo sich dann auch die ersten Berührungspunkte mit der Marke oder dem Unternehmen ergeben. Wichtig ist, dass der Kunde während seiner Suche nach spezifischen Informationen zu seinem Anliegen auf diesen Berührungspunkt stößt.

Social Media Touchpoints während der Customer Journey
Mögliche Social Media Touchpoints während der Customer Journey (Bild: touchpoints.ch)

AIDA-Modell: Vier Phasen bis zur Kaufentscheidung

Die Customer Journey verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, um den Weg des Kunden vom ersten Berührungspunkt (Touchpoint) mit einem Produkt, dem Unternehmen oder Ähnlichem bis hin zur endgültigen Kaufentscheidung zu verfolgen. Dieser Weg wird in einzelne Phasen eingeteilt, die auf dem vierstufigen AIDA-Modell basieren. AIDA steht für:

  1. Attention
  2. Interest
  3. Desire
  4. Action

Die erste Phase (Attention) der Customer Journey beschreibt die Orientierung des Kunden, erste Anknüpfungspunkte liegen dabei oft im Bereich der Social Media in Form von Ads (Anzeigen). Diese Phase kann aber auch genauso gut von Videos, Bildern und Texten (Ratgebertexte in Blogs, Foren und sozialen Netzwerken) initiiert werden und damit die Recherche in Gang setzen. Der Übergang zur Spezifikationsphase (Interest) ist fließend. Bilder auf Pinterest oder Instagram eröffnen dem Kunden auf seiner Suche nach einer bestimmten Art an Produkten das Spektrum der ihm gebotenen Alternativen.

Danach folgt die Phase der Anbieterauswahl. Der Kunde sucht nun nach detaillierteren Informationen, um sich auf deren Basis für ein bestimmtes Produkt zu entscheiden. In dieser Phase ist gut recherchierter Content gefragt, sei es in Form von Videos oder Ratgebertexten, mit deren Hilfe letzte Zweifel ausgeräumt werden. Hochwertige Inhalte sind umso wichtiger, da der Kunde in dieser Phase Vergleiche durchführt. Spätestens an diesem Punkt zahlen sich gute Bewertungen und Reviews eigener Produkte in den Social Media aus.

Touchpoint Online Shop

In der letzten Phase (Action) erfolgt die Kontaktaufnahme mit dem Anbieter. Die Umwandlung vom Nutzer zum Kunden erfolgt meist auf der Unternehmenswebseite bzw. im Online-Shop durch Anmeldung und Kaufabschluss. Durch Shopping-Angebote in Social Media kann mittlerweile aber auch der Kauf direkt in Social Media gestartet werden.

Sales Funnel und Customer Decision Journey

Um die Phasen der Customer Journey passend zu bespielen, wird häufig das Modells des Sales Funnels herangezogen. Dieser Trichter (Funnel) verdeutlicht, wie die Anzahl der Interessenten mit jeder Phase geringer wird. Es schließen also weniger Kunden tatsächlich einen Kauf ab, als anfänglich Interessenten vorhanden waren. Die Darstellung bzw. Analyse der Customer Journey mithilfe des Sales Funnels endet mit dem Kaufabschluss.

Etwas weiter geht die von der Unternehmensberatung McKinsey entwickelte Customer Decision Journey. Auch hier wägt der Kunde anfänglich zwischen verschiedenen Marken ab, welche für ihn infrage kommen könnte. Dabei beschränkt er sich zunächst auf ihm bekannte Marken. Anschließend werden die eigenen Präferenzen mit hinzugezogen, um so eine Vorauswahl zu treffen. Er legt fest, welches der angebotenen Produkte als Lösungsmöglichkeit am ehesten infrage kommt, um dann in der nächsten Phase den Kauf zu tätigen. In diesem Moment wird der Nutzer zum Kunden. Die mit dem Produkt gemachten Erfahrungen fließen in künftige Kaufentscheidungen mit ein.

Moment of Truth – der Moment der Wahrheit

Eines der heute bekanntesten Modelle stammt vom Unternehmen Procter&Gamble und nennt sich Moments of Truth. Dieses Modell teilt den Prozess der Kaufentscheidung in drei Phasen auf: Stimulus, First Moment of Truth und Second Moment of Truth. Durch den Stimulus wird der Kunde auf ein Produkt aufmerksam. Hierbei kann es sich um ein Werbebanner, einen Blogbeitrag oder Inhalte im Bereich Social Media wie ein Bild auf Instagram, einen Tweet sowie Reviews auf YouTube handeln.

Beispiel Customer Journey
Beispiel einer Customer Journey (Bild: marketing-boerse.de)

Entscheidet sich der Kunde aufgrund des Stimulus für eine Marke oder ein Produkt, wird dies als First Moment of Truth bezeichnet. Der Second Moment of Truth lässt danach nicht lange auf sich warten: Der Kunde konsumiert das Produkt und macht damit seine Erfahrungen.

In der Literatur werden die einzelnen Begriffe mittlerweile unterschiedlich ausgelegt. So ist der First Moment of Truth laut Alan George Lafley von Procter&Gamble der Moment, in welchem der Kunde das Produkt erstmals wahrnimmt. Der Second Moment of Truth ist jener Moment, in dem der Kunde das Qualitätsversprechen eines Produktes nach dem Kauf überprüft.

Darüber hinaus konnte sich auch noch ein Third Moment of Truth etablieren, der vor allem für den Bereich der Social Media hohe Relevanz besitzt. Bezeichnet wird damit der Moment, an dem der Kunde ein Urteil über ein Produkt oder eine Marke abgibt, er sich also positiv oder negativ darüber äußert. In der Praxis geschieht dies beispielsweise über Kommentare unter bestimmten Einträge, Bilder vom Produkt, als Video gestaltete Reviews oder Tweets. Diese Inhalte können wiederum zu Berührungspunkten innerhalb der Customer Journey anderer Kunden avancieren.

Empfehlungen auf Social Media (Bild: internetworld.de)

Ultimate Moment of Truth und Zero Moment of Truth

Die Erfahrung hat gezeigt, dass Äußerungen vonseiten der Kunden eine sehr hohe Reichweite erzielen können. Dies ist für das Online Marketing, speziell im Bereich des Social Media Monitoring, von großer Bedeutung. Ob als Rezension oder Bewertung im E-Commerce, als Kommentar unter Unternehmensbeiträgen oder Einträgen in Foren. Für die Durchführung von Kampagnen spielt der Third Moment of Truth als Teil der Customer Journey durch die Social Media eine wesentliche Rolle.

In diesem Zusammenhang sollte auch der Ultimate Moment of Truth erwähnt werden. Denn damit ist jener Moment gemeint, in dem Konsumenten ihre Erfahrungen mit anderen Nutzern in den Social Media teilen, ohne notwendigerweise die Präsenz des Unternehmens mit einzubeziehen. Zu beachten ist dabei, dass der Ultimate Moment of Truth des einen Nutzers zum Zero Moment of Truth eines anderen Nutzers führen kann und damit dessen Customer Journey startet.

 

 

Wichtig ist, dass sie diese Aktivitäten auf Social Media umfassend monitoren, um sowohl positives Feedback durch sharing zu verbreiten als auch auf Kritik zeitnah zu reagieren, um dieses zu entkräften oder einzugrenzen.