Contextual targeting - reaching target groups through context instead of cookies

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

Contextual targeting aims to play ads to users who visit pages thematically related to the advertised offer.

Contextual targeting, as a concept, builds on one of the simplest insights in marketing: Customers are more likely to take up an offer if they are interested in it. As an example: If you are vegan, an advertisement for barbecue sausages will not work for you. However, if you are interested in grills, then the offer may be very interesting for you. The task for marketing is therefore: How can we find out what an online user is interested in? This is where the Targeting into play. 

 

 

Targeting- or: the art of targeting the right customers

Target is an English vocabulary from the military field and actually means "hostile target". In marketing parlance, the meaning has shifted somewhat: The Target here is the customer willing to buy. Targeting therefore means nothing more than the Identification of corresponding persons

One way of doing this is by "shadowing" Internet users with digital spotters. They have users tracked across the network and thus learn what interests them. This variant is actually common. Technically, the so-called Cookies responsible for this. This is the reason why, since the entry into force of the GDPR, you must consent to the use of the digital cookie on any website. 

Einsatz von Contextual Targeting und Behavioural Targeting
Contextual Targeting vs. Behavior Targeting (Image: marketingcharts.com)

Actually the cookies not a good tool for targeting. They are not fit-for-purpose, but collect extensive data that must first be evaluated. However, many companies have found that this additional information can be used to make good Make money letsbecause other companies may well be interested in the additional data records. Internet users, however, do not want exactly this. Cookies are therefore often blocked. Targeting has failed.

Another variant is therefore more sensible: the Contextual Targeting

Contextual Targeting: Recognizing and Using Contexts

Contextual targeting means that Customized advertisements for the pages that a user visits. So there will be Interrelationships recognized and used. For example, a user reads news from the world of motor sports. It makes sense to play him an ad from a tuning store. Another user is reading a guide on how to jog properly for beginners. He gets an ad for running shoes.

The advantages are obvious: 

  • The advertising speaks a Interest of the user an. 
  • The display is shown as coherent felt and therefore not immediately ignored. 
  • A large proportion of so-called "bad ads" are automatically avoided: Without context, advertisements sometimes end up next to content that glorifies violence and pornography - especially on video platforms such as YouTube. 
  • Advertising will suitable for the state of mind of the potential customer: They do not always want to deal with recipes, new cars, etc., for example. If, on the other hand, they visit a corresponding page, they are open to it. 

Various studies have therefore already found that contextual targeting works. The CTR for contextual ads is higher than for behavioral targeting (cookies)

The danger in contextual targeting

Where there are advantages, there are usually disadvantages as well. This is no different here. Contextual targeting carries the Danger of false conclusion in itself. As an example: If a user reads a report about cruise ship disaster, he certainly does not want to receive an advertisement for a cruise. He will not only reject it, but will also be a negative image of the provider get, as he finds the ad distasteful. 

Funktionsweise von Contextual Targeting
This is how contextual targeting works (Image: simpli.fi)


The solution to this danger of Contextual Targeting is the semantic analysis. Semantics refers to the content concept of a sentence, paragraph, text. Signal words help here. As an example: 

  • The "hopefully" signals a positive statement. 
  • Now the "unfortunately" makes a negative statement clear. 

Although digital robots are not able to understand language like people, you can still use the Signal words learn. They are thus able to perform a semantic analysis in order to deliver the right ad to the right place. So-called tags are used for this purpose. These are terms that signal that the ad is appropriate or must not be served under any circumstances. 

Conclusion: Contextual Targeting is not easy, but worthwhile

Contextual targeting is not a tool that relieves from all work. On the contrary, it costs a lot of effort due to the semantic analysis. In return the procedure is all the more worthwhile. However, it should be done by experts to avoid mistakes. We will be happy to help you with this. Just contact us now!

 

 

Tags: 

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

4 Minuten Lesezeit

Contextual Targeting zielt darauf, Werbeanzeigen an Nutzer auszuspielen, die mit dem beworbenen Angebot thematisch verwandte Seiten besuchen.

Contextual Targeting baut als Konzept auf einer der einfachsten Erkenntnisse des Marketings auf: Kunden nehmen ein Angebot eher wahr, wenn sie sich dafür interessieren. Als Beispiel: Wenn Sie Veganer sind, wird eine Werbung für Grillwürstchen bei Ihnen nicht fruchten. Wenn Sie sich allerdings über Grills informieren, dann ist das Angebot möglicherweise sehr interessant für Sie. Die Aufgabe für das Marketing lautet deshalb: Wie lässt sich herausfinden, woran ein Online-Nutzer Interesse hat? An dieser Stelle kommt das Targeting ins Spiel. 

 

 

Targeting- oder: die Kunst, auf die richtigen Kunden zu zielen

Target ist eine englische Vokabel aus dem militärischen Bereich und bedeutet eigentlich “feindliches Ziel”. Im Marketing-Sprachgebrauch hat sich der Sinn etwas verschoben: Der Target ist hier der kaufwillige Kunde. Targeting bedeutet also nichts weiter als die Identifizierung entsprechender Personen

Eine Möglichkeit hierfür ist die “Beschattung” von Internetnutzern durch digitale Späher. Sie lassen die Anwender quer durch das Netz verfolgen und lernen so, was diese interessiert. Diese Variante ist tatsächlich gängig. Technisch sind die sogenannten Cookies hierfür zuständig. Dies ist der Grund, weshalb Sie seit Inkrafttreten der DSGVO der Nutzung des digitalen Gebäcks auf jeder Webseite zustimmen müssen. 

Einsatz von Contextual Targeting und Behavioural Targeting
Contextual Targeting vs. Behaviour Targeting (Bild: marketingcharts.com)

Eigentlich sind die Cookies kein gutes Mittel für das Targeting. Sie sind nicht passgenau, sondern erheben umfangreiche Daten, die erst einmal ausgewertet werden müssen. Allerdings haben viele Unternehmen herausgefunden, dass sich mit diesen zusätzlichen Informationen gutes Geld verdienen lässt, da sich andere Firmen durchaus für die zusätzlichen Datensätze interessieren. Internetnutzer möchten aber genau dies nicht. Cookies werden deshalb oft blockiert. Das Targeting ist gescheitert.

Sinnvoller ist deshalb eine andere Variante: das Contextual Targeting

Contextual Targeting: Zusammenhänge erkennen und nutzen

Contextual Targeting bedeutet, dass Werbeanzeigen passgenau für die Seiten ausgespielt werden, die ein Nutzer besucht. Es werden also Zusammenhänge erkannt und genutzt. Als Beispiel: Ein Nutzer liest Nachrichten aus der Welt des Motorsports. Es macht Sinn, ihm eine Anzeige eines Tuningshops auszuspielen. Ein anderer Nutzer liest einen Ratgeber über das richtige Joggen für Anfänger. Er bekommt eine Ad für Laufschuhe.

Die Vorteile liegen auf der Hand: 

  • Die Werbung spricht ein Interesse des Nutzers an. 
  • Die Anzeige wird als stimmig empfunden und deshalb nicht sofort ignoriert. 
  • Ein Großteil der sogenannten “Bad Ads” wird automatisch vermieden: Ohne Kontext landen Werbungen schon einmal neben gewaltverherrlichenden und pornographischen Inhalten – insbesondere auf Videoplattformen wie Youtube. 
  • Werbung wird passend zum Gemütszustand des potenziellen Kunden ausgespielt: Nicht immer möchte sich dieser beispielsweise mit Kochrezepten, Neuwagen, etc. beschäftigen. Besucht er hingegen eine entsprechende Seite, ist er hierfür offen. 

Verschiedene Studien haben deshalb bereits herausgefunden, dass das Contextual Targeting funktioniert. Der CTR bei kontextbasierten Werbeanzeigen ist höher als beim Behavorial Targeting (Cookies)

Die Gefahr im Contextual Targeting

Wo es Vorteile gibt, existieren in der Regel ebenfalls Nachteile. Dies ist hier nicht anders. Das Contextual Targeting trägt die Gefahr des Fehlschlusses in sich. Als Beispiel: Wenn ein Nutzer einen Bericht über Kreuzfahrtschiff-Katastrophe liest, möchte er sicher keine Werbung für eine Kreuzfahrt erhalten. Er wird diese nicht nur ablehnen, sondern ein negatives Bild vom Anbieter bekommen, da er die Anzeige als geschmacklos empfindet. 

Funktionsweise von Contextual Targeting
So funktioniert Contextual Targeting (Bild: simpli.fi)


Die Lösung für diese Gefahr des Contextual Targetings ist die semantische Analyse. Semantik bezeichnet das Inhaltskonzept eines Satzes, Absatzes, Textes. Hierbei helfen Signalwörter. Als Beispiel: 

  • Das “Hoffentlich” signalisiert eine positive Aussage. 
  • Nun wird durch das “Leider” eine negative Aussage deutlich. 

Obwohl digitale Roboter nicht in der Lage sind, Sprache wie Menschen zu verstehen, können Sie doch die Signalwörter lernen. Sie sind so zu einer semantischen Analyse in der Lage, um die richtige Ad an den richtigen Ort auszuspielen. Hierfür sind sogenannte Tags im Einsatz. Dies sind Begriffe, die signalisieren, dass die Werbung angebracht ist oder auf keinen Fall geschaltet werden darf. 

Fazit: Contextual Targeting ist nicht einfach, aber lohnend

Contextual Targeting ist kein Werkzeug, das von jeder Arbeit entlastet. Im Gegenteil kostet es durch die semantische Analyse viel Mühe. Dafür lohnt sich das Verfahren umso mehr. Allerdings sollte es durch Experten durchgeführt werden, um Fehler zu vermeiden. Gerne helfen wir Ihnen dabei. Kontaktieren Sie uns einfach jetzt!