Anti-Persona - A Better Filter in Online Marketing

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

In mathematics and the natural sciences, it is one of the most popular methods of definition - ex negativo. Instead of spending a long time on what a term means, it is clearly outlined what it does not mean.
Marketers can also take advantage of this clarity: With the anti-persona. Just as a persona is a fictitious representation of character traits and social and demographic characteristics, the anti-persona deals with an outline of what Customers or leads are not.

In this post, we'll give you a detailed overview of the anti-persona and show you why it's important to use it at least as well as the Buyer persona to know.

 

With the Persona to the Target Audience

One of the most important tools in online marketing is the target audience. Through the multitude of data available to you, you can improve your Delimit target group very precisely and with good content and targeted campaigns target.
However, because describing a target group precisely is often somewhat abstract in practice, the buyer persona is used to communicate clearly, Who belongs to a target group. This gives abstract data a face and all stakeholders outside the marketing department know exactly who you are talking about.

Example of a user persona:
Francesca, for example, is a user persona. Francesca is 23 years old and a digital native. She works in the media industry and primarily uses mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. Francesca owns an iPhone and shares several stories a day on Instagram, with 2,000 followers. She is a micro-influencer and relevant brands she likes to share in her Stories. Since Francesca is still a student, her budget is limited. She likes to buy exclusive brands, but waits for good deals - they mostly reach her through social media.

Immediately you have a picture of the target group from this persona, even though there is no further information about Francesca as a concrete example. But if you target based on these demographic, social, and economic characteristics alone, you'll still achieve an Scattering loss. And this is where the anti-persona comes in, because now you restrict your target audience at the neuralgic points.

Eine Buyer Persona ist eine fiktive Person, die Ihre Zielgruppe repräsentiert.
A buyer persona is a fictional person who represents your target audience. (Image: blog.ec4u.com)

What exactly is the anti-persona in marketing?

No company offers products or services for everyone. As a rule, the target group is even very specific; a clearly defined small target group can even be served better than a vaguely defined large target group.
So with the anti-persona, you don't have to "define out" all those people from the target group who don't belong.

The anti-persona is a Specification of the existing target groupby removing all those parts that seem to belong to the persona, but do not do so in practice.

Hiking shoes, for example, are beneficial equipment for those who spend a lot of time in the mountains. So active customers with a penchant for the outdoors and regular trips to the mountains are the perfect persona for hiking boots. However, people who go to the mountains in winter for skiing or in summer for climbing are excluded.

Via an anti-persona, these can be removed, because the chance of conversion is low in these cases. There is No legitimate purchase interest and instead of laboriously building scenarios over multiple personas, you can use an anti-persona to create clarity.

Im Gegensatz zu einer Buyer Persona ist eine Anti-Persona ein typischer Repräsentant einer Person, die nicht zur Zielgruppe gehört.
Unlike a buyer persona, an anti-persona is a typical representative of a person who does not belong to the target audience. (Image: pinterest.com)

Who belongs to our target audience and who does not?
Even if, in the case of better targeting and retargeting, clearer Call-to-action and precise Content Marketing, a certain target group always bails out shortly before the purchase, you could Delete from the target audience by an anti-persona.

Why it is important to know the anti-persona?

Excluding a certain part of a potential target group is not only a win for your marketing budget. Also for the long-term reputation of your brand this can be quite useful, because out-of-place advertising, misleading content, or bad purchases will damage your brand.

Some simple examples: Young people searching the web for retirement homes, for example, don't need to be targeted with content for other products for the 60+ generation. After all, the search for a suitable home is certainly not for them.
Women, who are consistently targeted with marketing for grooming products specifically for men, can also be excluded via an anti-persona, for example. To be sure, it is important to think and work within the boundaries beyond the persona as well. But Too much wasted coverage causes frustration for an out-of-place target group.

Mit dem ermitteln einer Anti-Person wissen Sie, wer mit keiner Kommunikationsmassnahme und keinem Kommunikationskanal angesprochen werden sollte.
By identifying an anti-person, you know who should not be targeted with any communication measure or channel.

Even seemingly suitable target groups can be put off by the wrong marketing. Not every fan of luxury cars, for example, is financially able to afford a Lamborghini. Such fans can be put off in the long term by right lead campaigns be recruited as Brand Ambassadors and are essential to a premium company's reputation, but buying brochures or regional retailers are less relevant to this anti-persona.

Good marketing also creates a positive impact beyond the Information content and the Quality of the content added value for the right target group. Bad marketing, on the other hand, can also frustrate. And this frustration will not be directed at the misaligned campaign, but at the brand itself.
Therefore, it is important to distinguish, which potential customers have a justified interest in buying and which users conduct study research on the Net, organize professional activities or simply have completely different interests.

 

The Anti-Persona helps companies - in more ways than one

Not only have companies become accustomed to sophisticated targeting, but so have users.
De-placed advertising in online marketing has a frustrating and almost invasive effect, damaging the perception of their brand in the long run.

The anti-persona can help you, more trust and transparency in your marketing and also to create your Improve content marketing. If you clearly know who you don't want to target, you'll have more time for your real audience.

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

Anti-Persona – Ein besserer Filter im Onlinemarketing

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

In der Mathematik und den Naturwissenschaften ist es eine der beliebtesten Definitionsmethoden – ex negativo. Anstatt sich lange damit zu beschäftigen, was ein Begriff bedeutet, wird klar umrissen, was dieser nicht bedeutet.
Diese Klarheit können sich auch Marketer zunutze machen: Mit der Anti-Persona. Genauso wie eine Persona eine fiktive Darstellung von Charaktereigenschaften und sozialen und demographischen Merkmalen ist, beschäftigt sich die Anti-Persona mit einem Abriss, was Kunden oder Leads nicht sind.

In diesem Beitrag geben wir Ihnen einen genauen Überblick zur Anti-Persona und zeigen Ihnen, warum es wichtig ist, diese mindestens genauso gut wie die Buyer Persona zu kennen.

 

Mit der Persona zur Target Audience

Eines der wichtigsten Instrumente im Onlinemarketing ist die Target Audience. Durch die Vielzahl an Daten, die Ihnen zur Verfügung stehen, können Sie Ihre Zielgruppe sehr genau abgrenzen und mit gutem Content und zielgerichteten Kampagnen targeten.
Weil das genaue Beschreiben einer Zielgruppe aber in der Praxis oftmals etwas abstrakt ist, wird die Buyers Persona genutzt, um deutlich zu kommunizieren, wer zu einer Zielgruppe gehört. So bekommen die abstrakten Daten ein Gesicht und auch alle Stakeholder außerhalb der Marketingabteilung wissen genau, von wem Sie reden.

Beispiel für eine User Persona:
Francesca ist beispielsweise eine User Persona. Francesca ist 23 Jahre alt und Digital Native. Sie arbeitet in der Medienbranche und nutzt vor allem Mobile Devices wie Smartphone und Tablet. Francesca besitzt ein iPhone und teilt am Tag mehrere Stories auf Instagram, mit 2.000 Followern. Sie ist eine Micro-Influencerin und relevante Brands teilt sie gerne in ihren Stories. Da Francesca noch Studentin ist, ist ihr Budget begrenzt. Sie kauft gerne exklusive Marken, wartet jedoch auf gute Deals – die erreichen sie meistens über Social Media.

Sofort haben Sie von dieser Persona ein Bild zur Zielgruppe, obwohl es zu Francesca als konkretes Beispiel keine weiteren Informationen gibt. Doch targeten Sie alleine aufgrund dieser demographischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Merkmale, erzielen Sie immer noch einen Streuverlust. Und genau hier kommt die Anti-Persona zum Einsatz, denn nun schränken Sie Ihre Target Audience an den neuralgischen Punkten ein.

Eine Buyer Persona ist eine fiktive Person, die Ihre Zielgruppe repräsentiert.
Eine Buyer Persona ist eine fiktive Person, die Ihre Zielgruppe repräsentiert. (Bild: blog.ec4u.com)

Was genau ist die Anti-Persona im Marketing?

Kein Unternehmen bietet Produkte oder Services für jeden an. In der Regel ist die Zielgruppe sogar sehr spezifisch, eine klar umrissene kleine Zielgruppe lässt sich sogar besser bedienen als eine vage umrissene große Zielgruppe.
Mit der Anti-Persona müssen Sie also keinesfalls all jene Menschen aus der Zielgruppe „heraus definieren“, die nicht dazu gehören.

Die Anti-Persona ist eine Präzisierung der bestehenden Zielgruppe, indem Sie all jene Teile entfernen, die anscheinen zur Persona gehören, doch dies in der Praxis nicht tun.

Wanderschuhe sind beispielsweise eine vorteilhafte Ausrüstung für alle, die viel im Gebirge unterwegs sind. Aktive Kunden mit einem Hang zur Natur und regelmäßigen Reisen in die Berge, sind also die perfekte Persona für Wanderschuhe. Ausgenommen davon sind jedoch Menschen, die im Winter zum Skifahren oder im Sommer zum Klettern in die Berge fahren.

Über eine Anti-Persona können diese entfernt werden, denn die Chance einer Conversion ist in diesen Fällen gering. Es besteht kein berechtigtes Kaufinteresse und anstatt sich über mehrere Personas mühselig Szenarien zu bauen, können Sie über eine Anti-Persona Klarheit schaffen.

Im Gegensatz zu einer Buyer Persona ist eine Anti-Persona ein typischer Repräsentant einer Person, die nicht zur Zielgruppe gehört.
Im Gegensatz zu einer Buyer Persona ist eine Anti-Persona ein typischer Repräsentant einer Person, die nicht zur Zielgruppe gehört. (Bild: pinterest.de)

Wer gehört zu unserer Target Audience und wer nicht?
Selbst wenn im Falle eines besseren Targetings und Retargetings, klarem Call-to-Action und präzisem Content Marketing, eine bestimmte Zielgruppe stets kurz vor dem Kauf abspringt, könnten Sie diese Gruppe durch eine Anti-Persona aus der Target Audience streichen.

Warum es wichtig ist, die Anti-Persona zu kennen?

Einen gewissen Teil einer potentiellen Zielgruppe auszuschließen, ist nicht nur für Ihr Marketingbudget ein Gewinn. Auch für den langfristigen Ruf Ihrer Marke kann dies durchaus nützlich sein, denn deplatzierte Werbung, irreführender Content oder Fehlkäufe schädigen Ihrer Brand.

Einige einfache Beispiele: Junge Menschen, die im Netz nach Altersheimen suchen, müssen etwa nicht mit Content für andere Produkte für die Generation 60+ getargetet werden. Schließlich ist die Suche nach einem geeigneten Heim sicher nicht für sie selbst.
Auch Frauen, die beständig mit Marketing für Pflegeprodukte speziell für Männer angesprochen werden, können beispielsweise über eine Anti-Persona ausgeschlossen werden. Zwar ist es wichtig, auch in den Grenzen jenseits der Persona zu denken und zu arbeiten. Doch zu viel Streuverlust sorgt bei einer deplatzierten Zielgruppe für Frustration.

Mit dem ermitteln einer Anti-Person wissen Sie, wer mit keiner Kommunikationsmassnahme und keinem Kommunikationskanal angesprochen werden sollte.
Durch die Ermittlung einer Anti-Person wissen Sie, wer mit keiner Kommunikationsmassnahme und keinem Kommunikationskanal angesprochen werden sollte.

Selbst scheinbar passende Zielgruppen, können durch das falsche Marketing abgeschreckt werden. Nicht jeder Fan von Luxusautos ist beispielsweise finanziell in der Lage, sich einen Lamborghini zu leisten. Solche Fans können langfristig durch richtige Leadkampagnen als Brand Ambassadors gewonnen werden und sind für den Ruf eines Premium-Unternehmens unerlässlich, doch Kaufbroschüren oder regionale Händler sind für diese Anti-Persona weniger relevant.

Gutes Marketing schafft auch über den Informationsgehalt und die Qualität des Contents für die richtige Zielgruppe einen Mehrwert. Schlechtes Marketing hingegen kann auch frustrieren. Und dieser Frust wird sich nicht an die falsch justierte Kampagne richten, sondern an die Marke selbst.
Daher ist es wichtig, zu unterscheiden, welche potentiellen Kunden ein berechtigtes Kaufinteresse haben und welche User im Netz Studienrecherche betreiben, Berufliches organisieren oder einfach ganz andere Interessen haben.

 

Die Anti-Persona hilft Unternehmen – auf mehr als nur einem Weg

Nicht nur Unternehmen haben sich an ausgereiften Targeting gewöhnt, sondern auch die User.
Deplatzierte Werbung im Onlinemarketing wirkt frustrierend und beinahe schon invasiv, die Wahrnehmung ihrer Marke wird dadurch langfristig geschädigt.

Die Anti-Persona kann Ihnen helfen, mehr Vertrauen und Transparenz in Ihr Marketing zu schaffen und auch Ihr Content Marketing zu verbessern. Wenn Sie klar wissen, wen Sie nicht ansprechen wollen, haben Sie mehr Zeit für Ihre echte Zielgruppe.

Tags: 

Teilen: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Leave a comment

Thought Leadership content

Für Sie empfohlener Content.

Erklärungsbedarf? Wir legen Wert darauf, dass Sie die Möglichkeit haben sich weiterzubilden. In unserem Magazin vermitteln wir Grundlagen und informieren sie zu aktuellen Themen aus den Bereichen Marketing & Technology.