Protection in marketing - how to prevent ad fraud

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on whatsapp
WhatsApp
Share on email
Email

According to the German Digital Industry Association, the net volume spent on digital marketing in 2018 was 2.065 billion euros. A gigantic sum and the sign of an advertising world in upheaval. Due to the Anonymity between advertisers and ad providers, however, it is also comparatively easy for fraudsters to secure funds. Whether via Bot networks or via fake websites, there are always cases of fraud. Here you can learn how to identify fraud cases, which known methods of fraudsters there are and how to prevent ad fraud. 

 

 

Ad Fraud - Definition, Analysis and Tactics for Prevention

There are no exact figures on the volume of ad-frauds, which is due to different points. On the one hand, it is quite difficult to determine the Accurately quantify fraudbecause not all cases are even noticed or recognized and reported. In addition, there are of course also many different forms of advertising fraud and virtually every day new bot networks are created or the Domain Spoofing becomes "richer" by another fraudster. 

In principle, however, the scammers' schemes all work in a similar way: tricksters, touts and hucksters set up websitesAt first glance, they look like those of legitimate advertisers, or they pretend to be a real advertising site. Thereby the Money not always embezzled directly can be. Using networks of bots, fraudsters can, for example, make you believe that your advertising has a reach that it does not. Thereby the costs rise for performance-oriented bids but your ads will only be played in front of bots or click farms.

During the Non Human Traffic based on algorithms, work Click farms with human employees, but with obfuscated Device IDs. Thus, few users click through many thousands of times from the same device and optimize the performance of your ads in favor of the scammer. 

Es gibt verschiedene Ad-Fraud Vorgehensweisen, die Betrüger nutzen.
There are several fraud tactics that scammers use
(Image: businessofapps.com).

Damage to your brand or business is also entirely possible, so a Short-term financial loss is possibly only the beginning of a long chain of mischief. Your campaign, which has been planned and polished for months, may end up on a brand-damaging website. Another common scam is that your ad is not published at all. With the so-called Ad Stacking content is stacked "on top of each other" and thus remains invisible to the visitor of a page. Not ideal for an advertisement. 

Whether executed manually or automated, ad fraud aims to drive up your ad spend via de facto non-existent views. 

Prevent ad fraud - with caution, prudence and whitelisting

So how can ad fraud be prevented? As with all fraud, this is a multi-faceted question, as fraudsters upgrade with each new method of fighting back. Still, you and your business are not defenseless, it starts with the ad booking supply chain. 

Ideally, this should consist exclusively of two steps: Publisher and Ad-Network as well as Ad-Network and Ad-Exchange. 

Caution is also required when booking, because this is where domain spoofing strikes. Fraudsters book fake domains that look real at first glance. In these cases, it is important for companies to be careful with White Lists to work and to work only with trustworthy partners

As a publisher yourself, you must first and foremost Protect against malware, this interposes itself between your advertising inventory and the ad space and redirects the revenue. 
In all these cases, once the money has disappeared, it is almost certainly lost. Identifying the fraudsters and being able to prosecute them is the absolute exception. In fact, with ad fraud, you can consider yourself downright lucky if you can detect the fraud at all. 

Google itself, for example, uses a Onlinefilter, which performs automated checks. If suspicious activities with date, time or especially IP addresses are noticed, they will be checked manually. However, most fraudsters are too sophisticated for such methods, you will have more success as a Google Ads customer if you track the success of your campaigns yourself.

If, for example, the Conversion rates despite increasing traffic at a suspicious rate, you can of course report the issue to Google Ads.

To be able to prevent ad fraud, you must use Premium Publishers work in corresponding premium environments. This requires you to have a higher investment, but of course also holds the potential for a increased advertising impactFinally, your ads will appear on larger and safer sites. 
The environment of an advertisement in particular can already provide information about whether it is a potential scam. Questionable content that looks like Clickbait do not even have to be fraudulent in order to cause lasting damage to your brand. Basically, you should exercise caution and scrutinize both publishers and traffic in an advertising analysis. 

Another method to prevent ad fraud lies in ads.txt script and the further development ads.cert. These scripts require verification of the Bid Requests via lists of official sales platforms and site owners. In the form of the Coalition for Better Ads there are also direct contacts who can also stand up to fraud with improved standards. 

The ads.txt file, for example, not only provides authorized sources, but also booking paths for publishers. This can, for example, prevent captured domains with fraudulent advertising space from infiltrating the supply chain via authorized resellers. 

Brandsafety and trust in digital advertising

As a matter of principle, of course, you must have confidence in the digital advertising and into online marketing. Ad fraud is a real problem, and with click farms and bot networks, the fraudsters feel they have the higher leverage and can also grab larger sums automatically. And just as networking and globalization have brought the market for online advertising closer together, fraud rings operate just as globally and often no less professionally. International fraud gangs do not work in secret on individual computers, but can rent computer centers and server rooms. 

In preventing ad fraud, too, it is therefore essential that you do your homework in the Campaign analysis and keep an eye on visitor and conversion figures.

 

 

Finally, this is the ray of hope in the arms race against digital scammers: all the resources you and your company have to spend to deal with the fraud serve at the same time to improve your online marketing. By partnering with trusted publishers, premium websites as the environment for your ads, and a accurate analysis of your advertising data you can prevent ad fraud and at the same time ensure the long-term success of your ad campaigns.

Share: 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print
Thought Leadership content

Content recommended for you.

Stay informed: We want you to be on top of the current developments in marketing and technology. In our magazine, we share both fundamental and hot topics - in blog or video format.

preloader
Scroll to top
Thorit GmbH
Binsenstraße 13
91088 Bubenreuth
Anfragen
P: + (49) 09131 9279 515
M: sales@thorit.de

Schutz im Marketing – wie Sie Ad-Fraud verhindern

2018 waren es laut Bundesverband Digitale Wirtschaft 2,065 Milliarden Euro, die als Nettovolumen für digitales Marketing ausgegeben wurden. Eine gigantische Summe und das Zeichen einer Werbewelt die im Umbruch ist. Aufgrund der Anonymität zwischen Werbekunden und Ad-Anbietern ist es allerdings auch für Betrüger vergleichsweise leicht, sich Gelder zu sichern. Ob über Bot-Netzwerke oder aber über gefälschte Websites, Betrugsfälle gibt es immer wieder. Wie Sie Betrugsfälle identifizieren können, welche bekannten Methoden von Betrügern es gibt und wie Sie Ad-Fraud verhindern, das erfahren Sie hier. 

 

 

Ad-Fraud – Definition, Analyse und Taktiken zur Verhinderung

Genaue Zahlen zum Volumen von Ad-Frauds gibt es nicht, was an unterschiedlichen Punkten liegt. Zum einen ist es recht schwierig, den Betrug genau zu beziffern, da nicht alle Fälle überhaupt bemerkt oder erkannt und gemeldet werden. Außerdem gibt es natürlich auch viele unterschiedliche Formen des Werbebetrugs und quasi jeden Tag entstehen neue Bot-Netzwerke oder das Domain Spoofing wird um einen weiteren Betrüger „reicher“. 

Prinzipiell funktionieren die Maschen der Betrüger aber alle ähnlich: Nepper, Schlepper und Bauernfänger richten sich Websites ein, die auf den ersten Blick aussehen wie die seriöser Werber oder aber täuschen vor eine real existierende Werbeseite zu sein. Dabei muss das Geld nicht immer direkt veruntreut werden. Über Netzwerke an Bots können Betrüger Ihnen etwa eine Reichweite vorgaukeln, die Ihre Werbung gar nicht hat. Dadurch steigen die Kosten für performanceorientierte Gebote in die Höhe, Ihre Werbung wird allerdings nur vor Bots oder Klickfarmen abgespielt.

Während der Non Human Traffic auf Algorithmen basiert, arbeiten Klickfarmen mit menschlichen Mitarbeitern, aber mit verschleierten Device IDs. So klicken sich wenige User viele tausend Male vom selben Gerät durch und optimieren die Performance Ihrer Anzeigen zugunsten des Betrügers. 

Es gibt verschiedene Ad-Fraud Vorgehensweisen, die Betrüger nutzen.
Es gibt verschiedene Betrugs-Taktiken die Betrüger nutzen
(Bild: businessofapps.com).

Auch eine Schädigung Ihrer Marke oder Ihres Unternehmens ist durchaus möglich, so dass ein kurzzeitiger finanzieller Verlust womöglich nur der Anfang einer langen Kette des Ungemachs ist. Womöglich landet Ihre seit Monaten geplante und auf Hochglanz polierte Kampagne auf einer markenschädigenden Website. Dass Ihre Anzeige gar nicht veröffentlicht wird, ist ebenfalls eine weit verbreitete Betrugsvariante. Beim sogenannten Ad Stacking werden Inhalte „übereinander“ gestapelt und bleiben so für den Besucher einer Seite unsichtbar. Nicht ideal für eine Werbeanzeige. 

Ob nun händisch ausgeführt oder automatisiert, Ad-Fraud hat das Ziel, Ihre Werbeausgaben über de facto nicht existente Aufrufe in die Höhe zu treiben. 

Ad-Fraud verhindern – mit Vorsicht, Umsicht und Whitelisting

Wie lässt sich Ad-Fraud nun verhindern? Das ist wie bei allen Betrugsfällen eine vielschichtige Frage, da die Betrüger mit jeder neuen Methode der Bekämpfung nachrüsten. Dennoch sind Sie und Ihr Unternehmen nicht schutzlos, das beginnt schon bei der Lieferkette der Anzeigenbuchung. 

Diese sollte im Idealfall ausschließlich zwei Schritte umfassen: Publisher und Ad-Network sowie Ad-Network und Ad-Exchange. 

Auch bei der Buchung gilt Vorsicht, denn hier schlägt das Domain Spoofing zu. Dabei buchen Betrüger gefälschte Domains, die auf den ersten Blick real aussehen. Für Unternehmen ist es in diesen Fällen wichtig, mit White Lists zu arbeiten und nur mit vertrauenswürdigen Partnern zusammenzuarbeiten

Als Publisher selbst müssen Sie sich vor allem gegen Malware schützen, diese schaltet sich zwischen Ihr Werbeinventar und den Anzeigenplatz und leitet die Einnahmen um. 
In all diesen Fällen gilt: Ist das Geld erst einmal verschwunden, ist es ziemlich sicher verloren. Die Betrüger zu identifizieren und strafrechtlich verfolgen zu können, ist die absolute Ausnahme. Tatsächlich können Sie sich bei Ad-Fraud regelrecht glücklich schätzen, wenn Sie den Betrug überhaupt aufdecken können. 

Google selbst etwa nutzt einen Onlinefilter, der automatisierte Prüfungen durchführt. Sollten verdächtige Aktivitäten bei Datum, Zeit oder insbesondere IP-Adressen auffallen, geraten diese in eine manuelle Prüfung. Die meisten Betrüger sind allerdings zu raffiniert für solche Methoden, mehr Erfolg haben Sie als Google-Ads-Kunde, wenn Sie den Erfolg Ihrer Kampagnen selbst nachvollziehen.

Sinken etwa die Konversionsraten trotz steigender Besucherzahlen in verdächtigem Maße, können Sie den Vorgang bei Google Ads natürlich auch melden.

Um Ad-Fraud verhindern zu können, müssen Sie mit Premium-Publishern in entsprechenden Premiumumfeldern arbeiten. Dies verlangt von Ihnen ein höheres Investment, birgt aber natürlich auch das Potential für eine gesteigerte Werbewirkung, schließlich erscheinen Ihre Anzeigen dann bei größeren und sicheren Seiten. 
Gerade das Umfeld einer Werbeanzeige kann bereits Aufschluss darüber geben, ob es sich um einen potentiellen Betrug handelt. Fragwürdige Inhalte, die nach Clickbait aussehen, müssen nicht einmal Betrug sein, um Ihrer Brand dauerhaft schaden zu können. Grundsätzlich sollten Sie Obacht walten lassen und sowohl Publisher und Traffic in einer Werbeanalyse genau hinterfragen. 

Eine weitere Methode, um Ad-Fraud zu verhindern liegt in ads.txt-Skript und der Weiterentwicklung ads.cert. Diese Skripts verlangen eine Verifizierung der Bid Requests über Listen mit offiziellen Verkaufsplattformen und Seiteninhaber. In Form der Coalition for Better Ads gibt es ebenfalls direkte Ansprechpartner, die mit verbesserten Standards auch Betrugsfällen Paroli bieten können. 

Die ads.txt-Datei etwa liefert nicht nur autorisierte Quellen, sondern auch Buchungswege für Publisher. Das kann etwa verhindern, dass erbeutete Domains mit betrügerischen Werbeplätzen sich über autorisierte Reseller in die Lieferkette einschleusen. 

Brandsafety und Vertrauen in die digitale Werbung

Grundsätzlich gilt natürlich, dass Sie das Vertrauen in die digitale Werbung und ins Onlinemarketing nicht verlieren müssen. Ad-Fraud ist ein reales Problem und mit Klickfarmen und Bot-Netzwerken sitzen die Betrüger gefühlt am längeren Hebel und können automatisiert auch größere Summen abgreifen. Und so wie Vernetzung und Globalisierung den Markt für Onlinewerbung näher zusammengebracht haben, operieren Betrugsringe analog dazu genauso global und oftmals nicht minder professionell. Internationale Betrügerbanden arbeiten nicht im Verborgenen an einzelnen Rechnern, sondern können sich Rechnerzentren und Serverräume anmieten. 

Auch im Verhindern von Ad-Fraud ist es daher essentiell, dass Sie Ihre Hausaufgaben in der Kampagnenanalyse machen und Besucher- und Konversionszahlen im Blick behalten.

 

 

Das schließlich ist der Hoffnungsschimmer im Wettrüsten gegen die digitalen Betrüger: Alle Mittel, die Sie und Ihr Unternehmen aufbringen müssen, um mit dem Betrug fertig zu werden, dienen gleichzeitig einer Verbesserung Ihres Onlinemarketings. Durch eine Zusammenarbeit mit vertrauenswürdigen Publishern, Premium-Websites als Umgebung für Ihre Anzeigen und einer genaue Analyse Ihrer Werbedaten können Sie Ad-Fraud verhindern und gleichzeitig den langfristigen Erfolg Ihrer Ad-Kampagnen sichern.